What does the sake category Futsūshu | SUSHIYA sansaro mean

Futsūshu

Table of contents

Japanese sake can have the highest craft requirements for production and raw ingredients. To understand the quality classes of sake and its flavor orientation, knowledge of the different quality classes of Japanese sake a great help. In addition to the six important premium classes of sake, there is also the Futsū class.shu.

What is Futsūshu sake?

Japanese sakethat is not classified as Tokutei Meishōshu is called "Futsūshu" (普通酒) or "Ippanshu" in Japan. "Futsū" means "normal" and it is not premium sake. In German, it could also be well called table sake or standard sake.

Conversely, this means that if you don't see any of the premium designations (so always contains the words Honjōzō, Junmai, Ginjō or Daiginjō) on a sake bottle or in a sake menu in a restaurant, then it is usually automatically Futsūshu, table sake.

So, at the Japanese restaurant of your choice, pay attention to whether you get only Futsūshu or if you also have the choice from different premium sake. 

However, this does not mean that every Futsūshu is automatically only bad or inferior.

What distinguishes a Futsūshu?

Futsūshu is not subject to any special regulations. It is often made from "edible rice" instead of sake rice. Futsūshu contains a lot of added distilled alcohol. Some varieties also contain sugar, colorings and other additives.

Historical development of Futsūshu

Futsūshu is not subject to any special regulations. It is often made from "edible rice" instead of sake rice. Futsūshu contains a lot of added distilled alcohol. Some varieties also contain sugar, colorings and other additives.

In Japan, during and after the war, large amounts of brewed alcohol were added to sake to make as much sake as possible with as little rice as possible.

At that time Junmai sake added twice the amount of low-grade alcohol and adjusted the taste with sugar, acidifiers and chemical seasonings. This was called "Sanzōshu" (三増酒, German: verdreifachter Sake). The sake made in this way was of course of very low quality, but it was accepted at a time when rice was very scarce.

However, even during the period of rapid economic growth, when there were no longer difficulties in obtaining rice, some sake breweries continued to produce this type of sake with an emphasis on profit.

Nowadays, due to changes in the law, it is not even possible to produce "tripled" sake. But because brewing alcohol is added to Futsūshu, many Japanese still categorically consider Futsūshu bad.

Taste profile of sake category Futsūshu

Of course, you also can't expect Futsūshu to taste as high quality as premium sake with wonderful aromas and complex flavor profile.

However, there are many sake breweries that strive to offer consumers good sake at an affordable price. Some breweries even dare to offer high quality sake that meets the Ginjō criteria fulfilled, as Futsūshu for sale. Unfortunately, the selection of Futsūshu outside Japan is not large, so the chances of finding such treasures may be small.

"Table sake" with 60% market share in Japan

In any case, Futsūshu is something like table wine for Europeans. It still accounts for about 60 % of the Japanese sake market at present (as of about 2020, with a declining trend over the years). When you drink Futsūshu, you don't have to worry too much about the temperature range or what foods you can pair it with.

Some Japanese prefer to drink Futsūshu for everyday use and premium sake for special occasions.

Mini Sake Tasting March 17 2022

On March 17, we had the opportunity to celebrate the end of a day of workshops by a small but nice business group with a small,

Sake Tasting 29 May 2022

Outlook for the sake tasting on May 29, 2022 At the end of May we will again host a sake tasting, Sunday, 15.30h. Before Corona had

Futsūshu

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Japanischer Sake kann die höchsten handwerklichen Anforderungen an Produktion und Rohzutaten stellen. Um die Qualitätsklassen von Sake und seine geschmackliche Ausrichtung zu verstehen, ist die Kenntnis der verschiedenen Qualitätsklassen von japanischem Sake eine große Hilfe. Neben den sechs wichtigen Premium-Klassen von Sake gibt es auch noch die Klasse Futsūshu.

Was ist Futsūshu-Sake?

Sake, der nicht als Tokutei Meishōshu klassifiziert ist, wird in Japan „Futsūshu“ (普通酒) oder „Ippanshu“ genannt. „Futsū“ bedeutet „normal“ und es handelt  sich hierbei nicht um Premium-Sake. Auf Deutsch könnte man ihn auch gut als Tafel-Sake oder Standard-Sake bezeichnen.

Das bedeutet im Umkehrschluss auch üblicherweise: wenn Sie auf einer Sake-Flasche oder in einer Sake-Karte in einem Restaurant keine der Premium-Bezeichnungen (enthält also immer die Worte Honjōzō, Junmai, Ginjō oder Daiginjō) sehen, dann handelt es sich automatisch um Futsūshu, Tafelsake. Achten Sie in Ihrem japanischen Restaurant darauf, ob Sie üblicherweise nur Futsūshu bekommen oder ob Sie die Auswahl auch aus verschiedenen Premium-Sake haben. Das heisst allerdings nicht, dass jeder Futsūshu automatisch nur schlecht oder minderwertig wäre.

Was zeichnet einen Futsūshu aus?

Futsūshu unterliegt keinen besonderen Regulierungen. Er wird oft aus „Ess-Reis“ anstelle von Sake-Reis hergestellt. Futsūshu enthält viel zugesetzten destillierten Alkohol. Einige Sorten auch Zucker, Farbstoffe und andere Zusatzstoffe.

In Japan wurden während und nach dem Krieg dem Sake große Mengen an gebrautem Alkohol zugesetzt, um mit möglichst wenig Reis möglichst viel Sake herzustellen.

Damals wurde Junmai-Sake die doppelte Menge an minderwertigem Alkohol beigemischt und der Geschmack mit Zucker, Säuerungsmitteln und chemischen Würzmitteln angepasst. Dies wurde „Sanzōshu“ (三増酒, deutsch: verdreifachter Sake) genannt. Der auf diese Weise hergestellte Sake war natürlich von sehr geringer Qualität, aber er wurde in einer Zeit akzeptiert, in der Reis sehr knapp war.

Doch selbst in der Zeit des rasanten Wirtschaftswachstums, als es keine Schwierigkeiten mehr bei der Beschaffung von Reis gab, produzierten einige Sake-Brauereien weiterhin diese Art von Sake mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Profit.

Heutzutage ist es aufgrund von Gesetzesänderungen gar nicht mehr möglich, „verdreifachten“ Sake herzustellen. Aber da dem Futsūshu Braualkohol zugesetzt wird, halten viele Japaner den Futsūshu immer noch kategorisch für schlecht.

Natürlich kann man auch nicht erwarten, dass Futsūshu so hochwertig wie Premium-Sake mit wunderbaren Aromen und komplexen Geschmacksprofil schmeckt.

Es gibt jedoch viele Sake-Brauereien, die sich bemühen, den Verbrauchern guten Sake zu einem erschwinglichen Preis anzubieten. Einige Brauereien wagen es sogar, hochqualitativen Sake, der die Ginjō-Kriterien erfüllt, als Futsūshu zu verkaufen. Leider ist die Auswahl an Futsūshu ausserhalb Japans nicht groß, so dass die Chancen, solche Schätze zu finden, gering sein dürfte.

Auf jeden Fall ist Futsūshu so etwas wie für Europäer der Tafelwein. Er macht etwa aktuell immerhin noch 60 % des japanischen Sake-Marktes aus (Stand ca. 2020, Tendenz über die Jahre abnehmend). Wenn Sie Futsūshu trinken, müssen sich nicht zu viele Gedanken über den Temperaturbereich machen oder darüber, mit welchen Speisen Sie ihn kombinieren können.

Manche Japaner trinken lieber Futsūshu für den Alltag und Premium-Sake für besondere Anlässe.

Sake Tasting 29. Mai 2022

Ausblick auf das Sake-Tasting am 29. Mai 2022 Ende Mai veranstalten wir wieder ein Sake-Tasting, Sonntag, 15.30h. Vor Corona hatten