sansaro is now a Guide MICHELIN Restaurant | SUSHIYA sansaro

sansaro is now a Guide MICHELIN restaurant

Table of contents

Since 2007, we have been making efforts in the Restaurant sansaro, Sushi and fine japanese cuisine offer authentic Japanese quality and to introduce Japanese cuisine & culture to the guests in Munich. 

Behind the scenes, we are continuously working to get even better in every area, to find better and better material, to give the chefs the space they need for intensive preparation and cooking so that our food can evoke a memory of Japan. 

For this we have from the beginning consistently and constantly relied on experienced, Japanese chefs and worked out with you again and again how an authentic interpretation of Japanese cuisine can look and taste for German guests in Munich.

Above all, we are grateful for the encouragement of our numerous regular guests, including many people who have lived in Japan for a long time for professional reasons or who eat in exquisite restaurants all over the world again and again. But also many guests who just want to have a good time with good food, who like Japanese cuisine or who want to try it out carefully. Sushi & japanese cuisine want to approach. 

Restaurant sansaro in the Guide MICHELIN 2022

Since 2022 we are now also on the radar of the Guide MICHELIN and are incredibly proud that we are initially listed in the Guide with a so-called "Assiette", a plate, a brief mention: 

the SUSHIYA sansaro in Munich is a Guide MICHELIN restaurant since summer 2022!

This is of course a special pleasure and honor for us - and a great motivation to continue working for the best quality.

Guide Michelin & Japan: it's complicated 😉

The Michelin Guide, which has been published since 1900 (stars were awarded starting in 1926), was first published in New York in 2005, San Francisco in 2006, and finally Tōkyō in 2007. 

Since then, the guide has been expanded to other regions such as Ōsaka and Kyōto and now seems to have gained a foothold in Japan.

Japan ranks first in the Michelin Guide

In 2020, the gourmet website Fine Dining Lovers compiled a list of Michelin-starred restaurants in various regions of the world. The results were astonishing: Tōkyō took first place, Kyōto third and Ōsaka fourth.

Paris came in second with 119 restaurants. In contrast, Tōkyō had almost twice as many Michelin stars, with 226 restaurants. 

Japanese cities are thus at the top of the world in culinary terms from the point of view of the Michelin Guide, a renowned, experienced and originally French institution.

Where does that come from? And how can Tōkyō be the best city in the world in terms of gastronomy? 

Tōkyō is huge - and full of lovers of good food

First of all, as a metropolis of millions, Tōkyō simply has an outstanding number of restaurants. For example, there were  160,000 restaurants in Tōkyō in 2011, compared with only 10,000 in Paris. This difference is likely to increase year by year.

Japanese craft specializes

Second, the Tōkyō edition contains a very detailed categorization of Japanese cuisine. 

For example, many Japanese restaurants outside of Japan offer sushi, yakitori, gyoza, etc. all in one restaurant.

In contrast in Japan is the orientation of Japanese restaurants more specializedThis means that most restaurants specialize exclusively in tempura, udon, soba, yakitori, eel, fugu, and sushi, Kaiseki etc. 

This comes to the Japanese Spirit of craft specialization The guests do not expect an all-round restaurant, but they accept that the individual chef, the individual restaurant knows his craft very well and they approach this restaurant with a certain respect.

Finally, Japanese cuisine is not grouped into a single category in the guide, but is rated individually for each cuisine, resulting in many restaurants being awarded stars.

Fond of (good) food

And thirdly - bringing the first two points together - the Japanese are simply crazy about (good) food. They are real gourmets!

The chefs may be enthusiastic craftsmen, the Japanese cuisine rich in tradition and in its way special link between culture and terroir or surrounding waters - none of this would help if there weren't millions of people in Japanese metropolises who enthusiastically visit the particularly good restaurants, who share a deep enthusiasm for good food, and who always strive not only to make the best, but also to eat the best. 

It's like our restaurant: we can survive only by the fact that every evening many people come to us, who love and understand our quality. Our restaurant sansaro is not visible at a crossroads, but hidden in an inner courtyard. We have very few chance guests - and incredibly many appreciative regulars. Only through this we can survive at all, only through the visit and support of our guests we can order the good material, pay the rent, employ the cooks.

In short, apparently the Japanese appreciate good food, so restaurants that try to deliver the best quality are opening in high numbers in Tōkyō, Kyōto and in Ōsaka and are able to survive.

Universal culinary criteria of the Guide Michelin

But no matter how many restaurants there may be in Japanese cities, how many people find them particularly good there - they can be only then receive a star if they meet the following criteria established by Michelin in the eyes of the experienced and well-trained Michelin testers:

  • High quality of the ingredients or raw material
  • High level of cooking technique and perfection of flavors 
  • Originality, personal touch
  • Value for money: is the offered craft & raw material in reasonable proportion to the selling price
  • Consistent quality, on the one hand over the menu, and on the other hand over time
 

When you read this list, you now also understand why we already started a few years ago to ban one or the other dish from the menu, which the guests love and which are offered in all kinds of expensive and cheap "sushi" restaurants in Munich, and why we - for a restaurant of our size and structure - put an unusual amount of effort into our homemade desserts. 

Because we have already decided a few years ago that we only offer the dishes which we stand behind completely. We want to show what we are proud of and what we ourselves would like to eat. And we take pleasure in always improving all the details as far as possible, always finding and trying new things.

The recognition of the Michelin gives us now with it right, strengthens us in the fact that we consistently omit "margin bringers", which every normal restaurant actually needs to be able to work economically, and concentrate further on that, of which we are enthusiastic ourselves!

 

Here we are publishing an extensive article about the Guide Michelin in Japan - please check back later for full details.

Interim conclusion Michelin:

After a few months of Guide Michelin listing, an exciting, somewhat unexpected feedback is already emerging for us: Guide Michelin does not mean "better company" or even "celebrity factor" for us. 

It means even more appreciation for good material for us, Contact with other cooks, which also focus on sustainability. It turns out that the Guide and many guests who come to us through the Guide Michelin, especially value food quality and carefully selected and expertly treated material. Our attention to detail is honored.

It is an incredible motivation and encouragement to continue on a path that has not always been easy and to focus even more on good, high-quality and - where possible in the sushi sector - regional material. We look forward to the next 15 years!

Sharing pleasure in Japanese

SUSHIYA is passionate about Japanese cuisine and culture. In our restaurant sansaro you can encounter the fascinating Japanese cuisine or have it delivered to your home. On our homepage, Facebook and Instragram we always give insights into news and interesting topics.

Azuki Cheesecake

Our Azuki Chocolate Cheesecake, which has been a recurring dessert on the daily menu in our delivery and pickup service for a few weeks now.

read more "

Das sansaro ist jetzt ein Guide MICHELIN Restaurant

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Seit 2007 bemühen wir uns im Restaurant sansaro, Sushi und feine japanische Küche in authentisch japanischer Qualität anzubieten  und den Gästen in München japanische Küche & Kultur nahezubringen. 

Hinter den Kulissen arbeiten wir kontinuierlich daran, in jedem Bereich noch besser zu werden, das bestmögliche Material einzukaufen, den Köchen den Raum zu geben, den sie für die intensive Vorbereitung und Zubereitung benötigen, damit unser Essen eine Erinnerung an Japan hervorrufen kann. Dafür haben wir konsequent und konstant auf erfahrene, japanische Köche gesetzt und mit Ihnen immer wieder erarbeitet, wie eine authentische Interpretation der japanischen Küche für deutsche Gäste in München aussehen und schmecken kann.

Wir sind überaus dankbar für den Zuspruch von unseren zahlreichen Stammgästen, darunter auch viele Menschen, die früher beruflich lange Zeit in Japan gelebt haben oder immer wieder in exquisiten Restaurants aller Welt essen. Aber eben auch ganz viele Gäste, die einfach nur eine gute Zeit mit gutem Essen haben wollen, japanische Kochkunst mögen oder sich mal vorsichtig an Sushi & japanische Küche herantasten wollen. 

Restaurant sansaro im Guide MICHELIN 2022

Seit 2022 sind wir nun auch auf dem Radar des Guide MICHELIN gelandet und sind unglaublich stolz, dass wir zunächst mit einer sogenannten „Assiette”, einem Teller, einer kurzen Erwähnung im Guide gelistet sind: 

das SUSHIYA sansaro in München ist jetzt ein Guide MICHELIN Restaurant!

Das ist für uns natürlich eine besondere Freude und Ehre – und eine tolle Motivation, weiterhin für beste Qualität zu arbeiten.

Guide Michelin & Japan

Der seit 1900 erscheinende Michelin-Reiseführer (Sterne wurden ab 1926 vergeben) wurde 2005 erstmals in New York, 2006 in San Francisco und schließlich 2007 in Tōkyō veröffentlicht. 

Seitdem wurde der Reiseführer auf andere Regionen wie Ōsaka und Kyōto ausgeweitet und scheint nun in Japan Fuß gefasst zu haben.

Japan belegt beim Guide Michelin die ersten Plätze

Im Jahr 2020 erstellte die Gourmet-Website „Fine Dining Lovers“ eine Liste der mit Michelin-Sternen ausgezeichneten Restaurants in verschiedenen Regionen. Die Ergebnisse waren erstaunlich: Tōkyō belegte den ersten Platz, Kyōto den dritten und Ōsaka den vierten.

Paris kam mit 119 Restaurants auf den zweiten Platz. Im Gegensatz dazu gab es in Tōkyō mit 226 Restaurants fast doppelt so viele Michelin-Sterne. 

Japanische Städte stehen also aus Sicht des Guide Michelin, einer renommierten, erfahrenen und ursprünglich französischen Institution, kulinarisch an der Weltspitze.

Woher kommt das? Und wie kann Tōkyō die gastronomisch beste Stadt der Welt sein? 

Tōkyō ist riesig - und voller Liebhaber guten Essens

Zunächst einmal verfügt Tōkyō als Millionenmetropole schlicht über eine herausragende Anzahl von Restaurants. Beispielsweise gab es  2011 in Tōkyō 160.000 Restaurants, in Paris dagegen nur 10.000. Dieser Unterschied wird wahrscheinlich von Jahr zu Jahr größer.

Japanisches Handwerk spezialisiert sich

Zweitens enthält die Tōkyō-Ausgabe eine sehr detaillierte Kategorisierung der japanischen Küche. 

Viele japanische Restaurants außerhalb Japans bieten zum Beispiel Sushi, Yakitori, Gyoza usw. in einem einzigen Restaurant an.

In Japan hingegen ist die japanische Küche spezialisierter, das heisst meistens spezialisiert sich ein Restaurant ausschließlich auf Tempura, Udon, Soba, Yakitori, Aal, Fugu, Sushi, Kaiseki usw. 

Das kommt dem japanischen Geist der handwerklichen Spezialisierung sehr entgegen ― die Gäste erwarten kein Allround-Restaurant, sondern lassen sich darauf ein, dass der einzelne Koch, das einzelne Restaurant sein Handwerk sehr genau kann und treten diesem Restaurant auch mit einem gewissen Respekt entgegen.

Die japanische Küche wird schließlich im Guide auch nicht in einer einzigen Kategorie zusammengefasst, sondern für jede Küche einzeln bewertet, was dazu führt, dass viele Restaurants mit Sternen ausgezeichnet werden.

Versessen auf (gutes) Essen

Und drittens – das führt die ersten beiden Punkte zusammen – sind die Japaner einfach verrückt nach (gutem) Essen, sie sind echte Gourmets 

Die Köche mögen begeisterte Handwerker sein, die japanische Küche traditionsreich und in ihrer Art besondere Verknüpfung von Kultur und Terroir bzw. umliegenden Gewässern – das alles würde nichts helfen, gäbe es nicht auch in den japanischen Metropolen Millionen von Menschen, die begeistert die besonders guten Restaurants besuchen, die eine tiefe Begeisterung für gutes Essen teilen und die immer danach trachten, nicht nur das Beste zu machen, sondern auch das Beste zu essen. 

Es ist wie in unserem Restaurant: wir können nur dadurch überleben, dass jeden Abend viele Menschen zu uns kommen, die unsere Qualität lieben und verstehen.

Kurz gesagt: offenbar schätzen die Japaner gutes Essen, so dass Restaurants, die versuchen beste Qualität zu liefern in Tōkyō, Kyōto und in Ōsaka in hoher Zahl eröffnet werden und auch überleben können.

Universelle kulinarische Kriterien des Guide Michelin

Doch egal, wie viele Restaurants es in den japanischen Städten geben mag, wieviele Menschen sie dort besonders gut finden ― sie können nur dann einen Stern erhalten, wenn sie die folgenden vom Michelin aufgestellten Kriterien in den Augen der erfahrenen und fundiert ausgebildeten Michelin-Tester erfüllen:

  • Hohe Qualität der Zutaten bzw. des Rohmaterials
  • Hohes Niveau der Kochtechnik und Perfektion der Aromen 
  • Originalität, persönliche Note
  • Preiswürdigkeit: steht das angebotene Handwerk & Rohmaterial in einem angemessenen Verhältnis zum Verkaufspreis
  • Konstante Qualität, einerseits über die Speisekarte, andererseits auch über längere Zeit
 

Wenn man diese Liste liest versteht man nun auch, warum wir vor einigen Jahren schon damit begonnen haben, die ein oder andere Speise, die die Gäste lieben und die in allen möglichen teuren und billigen „Sushi“-Restaurants in München angeboten werden, von der Karte zu verbannen und warum wir ungewöhnlich viel Aufwand mit unseren hausgemachten Desserts betreiben: 

weil wir uns schon vor einigen Jahren dazu entschlossen haben, dass wir nur die Gerichte anbieten  wollen, hinter denen wir voll und ganz stehen. 

Die Anerkennung vom Michelin gibt uns nun damit recht, bestärkt uns darin, dass wir „Margenbringer“, die jedes normale Restaurant eigentlich braucht um wirtschaftlich arbeiten zu können, konsequent weglassen und uns weiterhin auf das konzentrieren, wovon wir selber begeistert sind!

 

Hier veröffentlichen wir gerade einen umfangreichen Artikel über Michelin in Japan – please check back later for full details.

Fukiyose Bentō 24. März 2022

Japanische Bentō sind — von kundiger Hand hergestellt — wahrhaft kleine kulinarische Schatzkisten. Man sagt oft, dass eine der einzigartigen

Bäume im Herbst
Momijigari – der japanische Herbst

Jetzt ist sie wieder da, die Zeit des Momijigari – wo die Japaner der wirklich unvergleichlich schönen Herbstfärbung des japanischen Ahorn nachjagen (紅葉 momiji = rotes Herbstlaub, 狩り kari = jagen).
Da wir inzwischen auf unserer sansaro-Sommerterrasse auch eine wunderschöne Ansammlung besonderer japanischen Ahornbäume haben hier ein kleiner Blick über den großen Teich nach Japan.