All about Junmai category sake | SUSHIYA sansaro
Table of contents
To understand Japanese sake is knowledge of the different sake categories helpful. Junmai is one of two lower premium sake types. Tokubetsu Junmai is a refinement of it.

Junmai & Tokubetsu Junmai

Table of contents

To understand Japanese sake is knowledge of the different sake categories helpful. Junmai is one of two lower premium sake types. Tokubetsu Junmai is a refinement of it.

What does Junmai mean?

The term Junmai (純米) in the name means "pure rice".
Other than water, rice, Kōji and yeast, no additives are allowed, including the addition of brewing alcohol as in Ginjō or Daiginjō.
The term Junmai can refer directly to this class of sake alone - or it can be used as a general term for sake to which no brewing alcohol has been added.
Junmai-class sake is simply called "Junmaishu" (純米酒) in Japan. In Japanese, a single character can have several different pronunciations. "Shu" (酒 - Japanese for alcoholic beverage) is another way of referring to sake.

What criteria must a Junmai-Shu meet?

The rice used to make Junmai sake must be at least third grade (Jap. Santou) in the rice inspection. With this inspection, the quality of the rice is evaluated and classified into five classes. For each class, certain criteria apply, such as the moisture content of the rice and the shape of the grain. In addition, the proportion of Kōji used must be at least 15 % of the total weight of the rice.

In the past, the degree of polishing of the rice had to be 70 % or less, but this restriction was abolished in 2004. Junmai sake therefore has no requirement on the degree of polishing, but the current degree of polishing must be indicated on the label.

How does Junmai-Shu taste?

Junmai category sake has a strong and full-bodied. Its flavor spectrum varies from dry to smooth and rounded.

One of the characteristics of Junmai sake is that it can be enjoyed at a variety of temperatures. It can be enjoyed chilled or warmed. If you want to enjoy the full flavor of the rice, we recommend drinking it when lukewarm. This is because Junmai sake is rich in umami ingredients such as succinic acid and amino acids. These umami components taste even better when warmed.

In Japan, Junmai sake is very popular as a food accompaniment because it goes well with many different dishes.

What does Junmai sake go with and what is it best drunk from?

It has a rich flavor, so it goes well with richly flavored dishes and fatty meat dishes, rather than light and subtle foods. It may seem surprising, but Junmai sake goes well with pizza, steak or even hamburgers. You should definitely give this combination a try!

Traditionally, Junmai sake is drunk in small ceramic vessels, but recently the Austrian glass specialist Riedel has also started offering glasses specifically for Junmai.

 

Our tip: Although rich in impact and overall depth, Junmaishu tend to be less aromatic than Ginjō or Daiginjō class sake. When tasting sake, therefore, sake novices are more likely to be advised to start with highly polished Ginjō and Daiginjō varieties before moving on to the more earthy Junmai varieties.

The refinement of Junmai: Tokubetsu Junmai

As mentioned above, there is no requirement for Junmai sake on the degree of polishing of the rice. But if certain conditions are met, it may call itself "Tokubetsu Junmai" (特別純米). Tokubetsu means "special" in German, expressing that the brewmaster has come up with something special.

The brewery must meet at least one of three conditions for "Tokubetsu":

  • The rice was polished down to at least 60 %;
  • the brewmaster has selected and used a special variety of rice;
  • the brewmaster has used a specific, recognized technique.

Tokubetsu Junmai has the same charm as Junmai sake with the natural flavor and umami of rice - but is often easier to drink than Junmai sake. If you are looking for a balanced sake at a relatively reasonable price, Tokubetsu Junmai would be a good choice.

Sake Tasting at Sushiya Sushi Restaurant Munich
Events
Review: Sake Tasting May 1, 2017

On a rainy, chilly spring day, sushi lovers gathered at our restaurant for a sake tasting of aromatic, high-quality sake.

Sake Tasting 29 May 2022

Outlook for the sake tasting on May 29, 2022 At the end of May we will again host a sake tasting, Sunday, 15.30h. Before Corona had

Sake Tasting October 2021

Review of the October 2021 sake tasting A wonderful little mini-tasting event we held on Sunday afternoon in beautiful weather

Sharing pleasure in Japanese

SUSHIYA is passionate about Japanese cuisine and culture. In our restaurant sansaro you can encounter the fascinating Japanese cuisine or have it delivered to your home. On our homepage, Facebook and Instragram we always give insights into news and interesting topics.

Inhaltsverzeichnis
Um japanischen Sake zu verstehen ist die Kenntnis der verschiedenen Sake-Kategorien hilfreich. Junmai ist einer von zwei Sake-Typen der unteren Premium-Kategorie. Tokubetsu Junmai ist eine Verfeinerung davon.

Junmai & Tokubetsu Junmai

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Um japanischen Sake zu verstehen ist die Kenntnis der verschiedenen Sake-Kategorien hilfreich. Junmai ist einer von zwei Sake-Typen der unteren Premium-Kategorie. Tokubetsu Junmai ist eine Verfeinerung davon.

Was bedeutet Junmai?

Die Bezeichnung Junmai (純米) im Namen bedeutet „purer Reis“.
Außer Wasser, Reis, Kōji und Hefe sind keine Zusatzstoffe erlaubt, auch nicht die Zugabe von Braualkohol wie bei Ginjō oder Daiginjō.
Der Begriff Junmai kann sich direkt auf diese Klasse von Sake allein beziehen — oder er kann als allgemeiner Begriff für Sake verwendet werden, dem kein Braualkohol zugesetzt wurde.
Sake der Junmai-Klasse wird in Japan einfach „Junmaishu“ (純米酒) genannt. Auf Japanisch kann ein einzelnes Zeichen mehrere verschiedene Aussprachen haben. „Shu“ (酒 – japanisch für alkoholische Getränke) ist eine andere Art der Bezeichnung für Sake.

Welche Kriterien muss ein Junmai-Shu erfüllen?

Der Reis, der zur Herstellung von Junmai-Sake verwendet wird, muss bei der Reiskontrolle mindestens den dritten Klasse (jap. Santou) aufweisen. Mit dieser Kontrolle wird die Qualität des Reises bewertet und in fünf Klassen eingestuft. Für jede Klasse gelten bestimmte Kriterien, wie der Feuchtigkeitsgehalt des Reises und die Form des Korns. Darüber hinaus muss der Anteil des verwendeten Kōji mindestens 15 % des Gesamtgewichts des Reises betragen.

In der Vergangenheit musste der Poliergrad des Reises 70 % oder weniger betragen, aber diese Beschränkung wurde 2004 abgeschafft. Junmai-Sake hat daher keine Vorschrift an den Poliergrad, aber der aktuelle Poliergrad muss auf dem Etikett angegeben werden.

Wie schmeckt Junmai-Shu?

Sake der Kategorie Junmai hat einen kräftigen und vollmundigen Körper. Sein Geschmacksspektrum variiert von trocken bis hin zu sanft und abgerundet.

Eines der Merkmale von Junmai-Sake ist, dass er bei einer Vielzahl von Temperaturen genossen werden kann. Er kann gekühlt oder erwärmt genossen werden. Wenn Sie den vollen Geschmack des Reises genießen wollen, empfehlen wir, ihn bei lauwarm zu trinken. Das liegt daran, dass Junmai-Sake reich an Umami-Inhaltsstoffen wie Bernsteinsäure und Aminosäuren ist. Diese Umami-Komponenten schmecken noch besser, wenn sie erwärmt werden.

In Japan ist Junmai-Sake als Essenbegleiter sehr beliebt, weil er gut zu vielen verschiedenen Speisen passt.

Wozu passt Junmai-Sake und woraus trinkt man ihn am besten?

Er hat einen reichhaltigen Geschmack, daher passt er eher zu reich gewürzten Gerichten und fetten Fleischgerichten, als zu leichten und subtilen Speisen. Es mag überraschend erscheinen, aber Junmai-Sake passt gut zu Pizza, Steak oder sogar Hamburger. Sie sollten diese Kombination auf jeden Fall einmal ausprobieren!

Traditionell wird der Junmai-Sake in kleinen Keramikgefäßen getrunken, doch seit kurzem bietet auch der österreichische Gläserspezialist Riedel Gläser speziell für Junmai an.

 

Unser Tipp: Obwohl sie reich an Wirkung und allgemeiner Tiefe sind, sind Junmaishu tendenziell weniger aromatisch als Sake der Ginjō oder Daiginjō-Klasse. Bei der Verkostung von Sake wird Sake-Neulingen daher eher empfohlen, mit hochpolierten Ginjō- und Daiginjō-Sorten zu beginnen, bevor sie sich den erdigeren Junmai-Sorten zuwenden.

Die Verfeinerung von Junmai: Tokubetsu Junmai

Wie bereits erwähnt, gibt es für Junmai-Sake keine Vorschrift an den Poliergrad des Reises. Aber wenn bestimmte Bedingungen erfüllt sind, darf er sich als „Tokubetsu Junmai“  (特別純米) bezeichnen. Tokubetsu bedeutet auf Deutsch „besonders“ und drückt damit aus, dass sich der Braumeister etwas Besonderes ausgedacht hat.

Die Brauerei muss für „Tokubetsu“ mindestens eine von drei Bedingungen erfüllen:

  • Der Reis wurde auf mindestens 60 % runterpoliert;
  • der Braumeister hat eine besondere Reissorte ausgesucht und verwendet;
  • der Braumeister hat eine bestimmte, anerkannte Technik benutzt.

Tokubetsu Junmai hat den gleichen Charme wie Junmai-Sake mit dem natürlichen Geschmack und dem Umami des Reises — ist aber oft leichter zu trinken als Junmai-Sake. Wenn Sie einen ausgewogenen Sake zu einem relativ günstigen Preis suchen, wäre Tokubetsu Junmai eine gute Wahl.

Sake Tasting im Sushiya Sushi Restaurant München
Events
Rückblick: Sake-Tasting am 1. Mai 2017

An einem regnerischen, kühlen Frühlingstag fanden sich Sushi-Liebhaber in unserem Restaurant zusammen um im Rahmen eines Sake-Tasting aromatisch hochwertigen Sake

Omotenashi – Gastfreundschaft auf Japanisch

Omotenashi ist die Bezeichnung für eine besondere Form der japanischen Gastfreundschaft, die tief in japanischer Kultur und Philosophie verankert ist. Zwischen Gast und Gastgeber herrscht dabei trotz klarer Rollenverteilung eine grundsätzlich ebenbürtige und von gegenseitigem Respekt geprägte Beziehung. Der Gast wertschätzt die Bemühungen des Gastgebers und der Gastgeber tut alles dafür, dass der Gast sich wohlfühlen kann und eine schöne Erfahrung hat.