Shōchū - all about the Japanese distilled liquor | SUSHIYA sansaro

Shōchū - all about the Japanese distilled liquor.

Table of contents

Shōchū, sometimes referred to as "Japanese vodka" or "Japanese liquor," is becoming increasingly popular in Japan. 

Young Japanese in particular love this high-proof drink, which is well suited for mixed drinks due to its subtle intrinsic taste. But Shōchū is also very popular served neat, on ice or with hot water. Here you will get an overview of everything you need to know about Shōchū and show you how versatile this drink can be.

What is Shōchū?

The Shōchū, in contrast to the Sake is a distilled beverage, for the production of which, however, similar to sake, Kōji (special mold cultures) are also required. 

To obtain a good Shōchū, it is important to have a starting material that is as starchy as possible. Thus, Shōchū can be made from rice, barley or buckwheat, among others. This enormous range of ingredients, several of which can also be used for the same Shōchū, ensures different flavors and lots of variety. Basically, the flavor of Shōchū tends to be earthy and nutty, but varies greatly depending on the crop from which it is made.

Where does Shōchū come from?

Originally, Shōchū probably originated in China or Korea and found its way to Japan from there.

Today, Shōchū is primarily produced around the port city of Kagoshima on the island of Kyūshū, located in southern Japan. But Shōchū also has a long tradition in other areas on Kyūshū Island. For example, the Kuma region in the south of Kumamoto Prefecture is known for mild and high-quality Shōchū. The trademarked name "Kuma Shōchū" is used for Shōchū originating from this area of Kyūshū. 

A fine example of the importance placed on quality in the production of Shōchū in this part of Japan is a very readable interview with Ms. Takahashi the owner of a Shōchū distillery in Taragi-machi. In one Interview on Japandigest it becomes clear with how much dedication and, above all, expertise Shōchū is produced. In order to accommodate consumer tastes, for example, some production processes have been adapted. This applies above all to the distillation process, which, unlike in the past, is carried out with less pressure and at lower temperatures in order to obtain a milder and fruitier taste.

How is Shōchū made?

Similar to Sake Shōchū is produced by fermenting a starch source and adding molds known as Kōji. 

Unlike sake, however, Shōchū is still distilled after fermentation and then stored for several months before being released to the market. The Kōji used for Shōchū is a special white Kōji. For very high-proof and strong Shōchū, yellow Kōji is also occasionally used, which is otherwise mainly used for the production of sake and is very sensitive.

What types of Shōchū are there?

Essentially, there are two types of Shōchū, namely at least double-distilled Kōrui Shōchū (焼酎甲類, Shōchū Kōrui) and single-distilled Otsurui Shōchū (焼酎乙類), which is also known as Honkaku (本格焼酎, Honkaku Shōchū). 

In particular, Kōrui Shōchū is rather tasteless and almost odorless, which is why it is primarily used for mixing with other drinks. Otsurui Shōchū, on the other hand, is called a true Shōchū and is characterized by a pleasant taste of its own. 

The exact flavor nuances of Shōchū are very closely related to the starch source used, which, unlike sake, can be freely selected for Shōchū.

Typical basic ingredients for Shōchū

Shōchū does not have to be produced from rice like sake, but can be made from many different starchy foods. In particular, the following ingredients are typically used for Shōchū in Japan:

  • Barley (麦焼酎, Mugi Shōchū)
  • Sweet potato (芋焼酎, Imojōchū)
  • Rice (米焼酎, Kome Shōchū)
  • Sugar cane (黒糖焼酎, Kokutō Shōchū)

 

Since it is very important that the starting ingredient for Shōchū contains a lot of starch, ingredients such as violet, buckwheat and muscovado sugar can also be used in addition to the listed ingredients. In total, there are 53 basic ingredients approved for Shōchū production in Japan. Even milk is used in Gyūnyū Shōchū (牛乳焼酎) - although the main ingredient here is actually rice in the end as well.

Other, rarer basic ingredients for Shōchū

Some of the less commonly used source materials for shochu are:
  • Sweet chestnut (栗焼酎, Kuri Shōchū)
  • Buckwheat (蕎麦焼酎, Soba Shōchū)
  • Sesame (胡麻焼酎, Goma Shōchū)
  • Perilla (紫蘇焼酎, Shiso Shōchū)
  • Carrot (人参焼酎, Ninjin Shōchū)
  • Seaweed (海藻焼酎, Kaisō Shōchū)
  • Mugi Shōchū

    This Shōchū is obtained from barley and is considered the most widely used in Japan. Its taste is rather neutral and does not offer any unusual flavors. Mugi Shōchū is usually very clear. However, there are also varieties that are aged in oak barrels, which gives them an amber appearance. Due to its mild character, Mugi Shōchū can be drunk well neat with ice.

    Imo Shōchū

    Imoshōchū is Shōchū made from sweet potatoes, which is said to have a rather strong flavor of its own. For this reason, this Shōchū is very suitable as an accompaniment to rich food such as Japanese noodle soup Rāmen. The quality of Imojōchū depends very much on the quality of the sweet potato used, which is why there can be immense differences in taste between different Imojōchū.

    Kome Shōchū

    Kome Shōchū is the name given to Shōchū based on rice as the basic ingredient. Only short-grain japonica rice is used, which gives it a certain inherent flavor. Unlike other Shōchū specialties, Kome Shōchū often has a slightly sweet taste and is more reminiscent of sake than other Shōchū thanks to the common base ingredient.

    Kokutō Shōchū

    Shōchū made from sugar cane is called Kokutō Shōchū and is sometimes somewhat fruitier than other Shōchūs. Especially dishes that are strongly influenced by soy sauce taste very good if you try a delicious Kokutō Shōchū with them. Highly recommended is the Sato No Akebono Gold Shōchū, which comes from Amami-guntō Island located in Kagoshima Prefecture and is made of brown cane sugar. This unique Shōchū, which is 43% vol. Alcohol content for a Shōchū is very high percentage, but captivates not only by its fine taste, but also by its slightly golden color, which he gets through about three years of storage in oak barrels.

    Kuri Shōchū

    Kuri Shōchū made from sweet chestnut is also something special in Japan and is especially known for its almost intense aroma.

    Gyūnyū Shōchū

    Also very exotic is Gyūnyū Shōchū, which is made from milk and convinces with its very mild aroma. Since milk is by far not as common in Japan as it is in Germany, however, this is likely to be a rather exotic treat...

    Awamori

    Awamori Shōchū, who comes from the island of Okinawa, occupies a special position. 

    In fact, unlike all other Shōchū varieties, Awamori is not spiked with white Kōji mold, but with black. 

    In addition, Awamori uses a different rice than is normally used. This is because indica rice originating from Thailand is used for it, which is longer-grained than the japonica rice commonly used for Shōchū production. Some experts also see Awamori as a related beverage rather than Shōchū because of these differences. The alcohol content of Awamori is often higher than Shōchū, often around 40 %, but we have also experienced 60 %.

    Shōchū as an alternative to the European liquor

    By Japanese standards, Shōchū is very high-proof. This is because the alcohol content of Shōchū ranges from 25 to 43% vol. 

    This is not very much compared to European spirits, but it still ensures that good Shōchū will enrapture even liquor lovers.

    By the way: an exciting cross between Japanese flavors and southern German-Austrian schnapps is our own quite exclusive handmade yuzu spirit. Check it out! 

    What is the aroma of Shōchū?

    As mentioned, Shōchū is not known for having a very intense flavor. This is also true in relation to normal Shōchū that has been distilled more than once or is made from relatively tasteless base materials such as gesture or rice. 

    But the more intensively you study the Shōchū spirit, the more nuances you will perceive. Especially when a Shōchū is made from rather exotic ingredients like buckwheat or sweet chestnut. Shōchū are considered more flavorful if they were distilled from sweet potato or sugar cane. Basically, Shōchū usually lacks fruitiness and is a rather dry drinking pleasure.

    Ideal as an accompaniment to food - this is how Shōchū presents itself.

    For us Europeans, the idea of enjoying an alcoholic drink other than wine or beer with a meal is rather foreign. Spirits are actually only served as an aperitif or digestif. This is completely different in Japan, however, because both shōchū and Whisky (as a highball) are often drunk directly with food. In terms of taste, Shōchū goes perfectly with fish, for example. But full-bodied dishes also unfold a special magic when accompanied by a selected Shōchū.

    How is Shōchū drunk?

    Of course, the detail-loving Japanese have devised numerous ways to best enjoy Shōchū. Here are the popular variants.

    Straight (ストレート)

    Honkaku Shōchū with an alcohol content of about 20 percent is best drunk neat, without any additives. It is ideal to enjoy the original aroma and taste of Shōchū.

    On the rocks (オン・ザ・ロック)

    Enjoy with ice cubes. Suitable for Shōchū with high alcohol content. It is important that the glass is first filled with ice and sufficiently chilled before pouring the Shōchū.

    Mizu-wari (水割り)

    Mix with water. The golden ratio of Shōchū and water is 6:4, that is, six parts Shōchū and four parts water. "Maewari (前割り)" is also a recommended way of mixing the Shōchū with water in advance and letting it sit for a day, as this makes the Shōchū extra soft.

    Soda-wari (ソーダ割り)

    Mix with soda water. Especially recommended in summer, as it is refreshing and easy to drink. It would also be good to add citrus fruits such as limes or lemons to refresh the taste.

    Oyu-wari (お湯割り)

    Recommended for drinking in winter mixed with hot water. Pour the hot water first and then the Shōchū so that the aroma of the Shōchū mixes with the hot water and you can also enjoy the fragrance.

    Umeboshi-wari (梅干し割り)

    Simply add umeboshi (Japanese salt plums) to the Shōchū the way you like to drink it - on ice, with water or hot water. The addition of Umeboshi softens the typical smell of the Shōchū and makes it a refreshing drink.

    Kan-tsuke (燗つけ)

    The day before, the Shōchū is mixed with desired amount of water, which is then warmed in a sake vessel, called "Joka (じょか)" in Japanese. This is still the ultimate way to drink Shōchū, and many connoisseurs believe that only by heating it can one enjoy the flavor, sweetness, and deep, smooth aroma of Shōchū.

    Shōchū is often offered ready mixed in Japan

    Due to its subtle taste, Shōchū is often used for mixing with other drinks. For example, the mixed drink Chūhai, which consists of Shōchū, soda and fruit flavoring, is very popular. The flavors on offer include lemon, grapefruit and apple. This drink, which is especially appreciated by young Japanese, is even available ready-mixed in cans in Japan. Another common recipe for a drink with Shōchū involves mixing it with oolong tea. If you prefer to try Shōchū straight, you can spice it up with a little ice in the summer or add hot water in the winter. 

    Sake and Shōchū - two drinks that are similar, but have a different character.

    The richly flavored Japanese "rice wine" sake is actually brewed like a beer, in a special process of multiple fermentation. Probably the biggest difference between the production of sake and shōchū is that shōchū, in addition to being fermented with Kōji is still distilled. The use of different raw materials is also noticeable in terms of both quality and taste. In addition, different Kōji molds are sometimes used in the production of sake than in shōchū. This ultimately results in a difference in taste and aroma, as sake tends to be fruity and full-bodied, while shōchū can be described as dry and earthy. 

    Shōchū is also considered less traditional in contrast to sake, which is already clear from the fact that Shōchū translates loosely as "brandy," so it is seen more as a simple spirit. 

    Last but not least, Shōchū has a higher alcohol content than sake due to the distillation process. Thus, the alcohol content of sake is in the range of 15% by volume, while Shōchū has an alcohol content of about 25% by volume. Even though many producers now produce very sophisticated variants of this drink, Shōchū usually does not come close to the quality of high-quality sake.

    Nevertheless, Shōchū has its firm place in Japanese drinking culture and is increasingly finding its way to Europe, especially in the variants on the rocks or oyuwari.

    With us in the Restaurant sansaro in Munich we always keep different varieties Shōchū for you to try - just ask for them!

    Sources:

    https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sh%C5%8Dch%C5%AB

    https://taz.de/Japanischer-Shch-Schnaps/!5593277/

    https://www.nipponboutique.com/de/auswahl-an-likoren-aus-japan/6340-japanischer-shochu-shoshu-japan-4904670022736.html

    https://www.japandigest.de/reisen/essen/sake-und-shochu-in-deutschland-interview/

    Click on the button below to download the content of mixology.eu.

    Load content

    https://www.rumundco.de/magazin/shochu/

    https://www.japandigest.de/reisen/essen/trinken/alles-ueber-japans-alkohol/

    https://galumbi.de/blog/2020/03/17/sato-no-akebono-gold-shochu-negroni-amami-breeze/

    Click on the button below to load the content of galumbi.de.

    Load content

    Sharing pleasure in Japanese

    SUSHIYA is passionate about Japanese cuisine and culture. In our restaurant sansaro you can encounter the fascinating Japanese cuisine or have it delivered to your home. On our homepage, Facebook and Instragram we always give insights into news and interesting topics.

    New Year's Eve at Sushi Restaurant Susyhiya Munich
    New Year's Eve 2018

    LOOKING AHEAD AT THE 2018 SILVESTER SPECIALS AT SUSHIYA SANSARO New Year's Eve is always an opportunity for the highest quality for our kitchen team. While

    read more "

Shōchū – alles über den japanischen, destillierten Schnaps

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Shōchū, zuweilen auch als „Japanischer Wodka“ oder „Japanischer Schnaps“ bezeichnet, erfreut sich in Japan immer größerer Beliebtheit. 

Insbesondere junge Japaner lieben dieses hochprozentige Getränk, welches sich aufgrund seines dezenten Eigengeschmacks gut für Mixgetränke eignet. Aber auch pur, auf Eis oder mit heissem Wasser serviert ist Shōchū sehr beliebt. Hier bekommen Sie einen Überblick über alles, was Sie zu Shōchū wissen müssen und zeigen Ihnen wie vielfältig dieses Getränk sein kann.

Was ist Shōchū?

Bei Shōchū handelt es sich im Gegensatz zum Sake um ein destilliertes Getränk, für dessen Produktion aber ähnlich wie bei Sake auch Kōji (spezielle Schimmelpilzkulturen) benötigt werden. 

Um einen guten Shōchū zu erhalten ist ein möglichst stärkehaltiger Ausgangsstoff wichtig. So kann Shōchū unter anderem aus Reis, Gerste oder Buchweizen hergestellt werden. Diese enorme Bandbreite an Zutaten, von denen auch mehrere für denselben Shōchū genutzt werden können, sorgen für unterschiedliche Aromen und viel Abwechslung. Grundsätzlich ist der Geschmack von Shōchū eher erdig und nussig, aber variiert sehr, je nach dem Gewächs, aus dem er gewonnen wird.

Woher kommt Shōchū?

Ursprünglich stammt Shōchū wohl aus China oder Korea und fand von dort seinen Weg nach Japan.

Heutzutage wird Shōchū in erster Linie rund um die Hafenstadt Kagoshima auf der im Süden Japans gelegenen Insel Kyūshū produziert. Aber auch in anderen Gegenden auf der Insel Kyūshū hat Shōchū eine lange Tradition. So ist zum Beispiel die Region Kuma im Süden der Präfektur Kumamoto bekannt für milden und hochwertigen Shōchū. Für aus diesem Bereich von Kyūshū stammenden Shōchū wird die geschützte Bezeichnung „Kuma Shōchū“ verwendet. 

Ein schönes Beispiel für den Stellenwert, den die Qualität bei der Erzeugung von Shōchū in diesem Teil Japans einnimmt, ist ein sehr lesenswertes Interview mit Frau Takahashi der Besitzerin einer Shōchū-Destillerie in Taragi-machi. In einem Interview auf Japandigest wird deutlich, mit wie viel Hingabe und vor allem Fachwissen Shōchū erzeugt wird. Um dem Geschmack der Konsumenten entgegenzukommen, wurden beispielsweise einige Produktionsprozesse angepasst. Dies betrifft vor allem den Destillationsprozess, welcher im Gegensatz zu früher mit weniger Druck und bei geringeren Temperaturen ausgeführt wird, um einen milderen und fruchtigeren Geschmack zu erhalten.

Wie wird Shōchū hergestellt?

Ähnlich wie Sake wird Shōchū durch Fermentierung einer Stärkequelle und die Zugabe von unter dem Namen Kōji bekannten Schimmelpilzen hergestellt. 

Anders als Sake wird Shōchū nach dem Fermentieren aber noch destilliert und dann für einige Monate gelagert, bevor er auf den Markt kommt. Bei dem für Shōchū verwendeten Kōji, handelt es sich um einen speziellen weißen Kōji. Für sehr hochprozentigen und kräftigen Shōchū wird vereinzelt auch gelber Kōji verwendet, der ansonsten überwiegend für die Produktion von Sake eingesetzt wird und sehr sensibel ist.

Welche Arten von Shōchū gibt es?

Im Wesentlichen unterscheidet man zwei Arten von Shōchū, nämlich mindestens doppelt destillierten Kōrui Shōchū (焼酎甲類, Shōchū Kōrui) und einfach destillierten Otsurui Shōchū (焼酎乙類), der auch als Honkaku (本格焼酎, Honkaku Shōchū) bekannt ist. 

Insbesondere Kōrui Shōchū ist eher geschmacksarm und fast geruchslos, weswegen er in erster Linie zum Mischen mit anderen Getränken genutzt wird. Otsurui Shōchū wird hingegen als wahrer Shōchū betitelt und zeichnet sich durch einen angenehmen Eigengeschmack aus. 

Die exakten geschmacklichen Nuancen von Shōchū hängen sehr eng mit der verwendeten Stärkequelle zusammen, die bei Shōchū anders als bei Sake frei gewählt werden kann.

Typische Grundzutaten für Shōchū

Shōchū muss nicht wie Sake aus Reis produziert werden, sondern kann aus vielen unterschiedlichen stärkehaltigen Speisen gewonnen werden. Vor allem die folgenden Zutaten werden in Japan typischerweise für Shōchū verwendet:


  • Gerste (麦焼酎, Mugi Shōchū)
  • Süßkartoffel (芋焼酎, Imojōchū)
  • Reis (米焼酎, Kome Shōchū)
  • Zuckerrohr (黒糖焼酎, Kokutō Shōchū)

 

Da es sehr wichtig ist, dass die Ausgangszutat für Shōchū viel Stärke enthält, können neben den aufgeführten Inhaltsstoffen auch Inhaltsstoffe wie Veilchen, Buchweizen und Muscovadozucker zum Einsatz kommen. Insgesamt gibt es in Japan 53 Grundstoffe, die für die Produktion von Shōchū zugelassen sind. Sogar Milch kommt zum Einsatz beim Gyūnyū Shōchū (牛乳焼酎) — wenngleich der Hauptbestandteil hier eigentlich am Ende auch Reis ist.

Andere, seltenere Grundzutaten für Shōchū

Einige der seltener verwendeten Ausgangsmaterialien für Shochu sind:
  • Edelkastanie (栗焼酎, Kuri Shōchū)
  • Buchweizen (蕎麦焼酎, Soba Shōchū)
  • Sesam (胡麻焼酎, Goma Shōchū)
  • Perilla (紫蘇焼酎, Shiso Shōchū)
  • Karotte (人参焼酎, Ninjin Shōchū)
  • Algen (海藻焼酎, Kaisō Shōchū)
  • Mugi Shōchū

    Dieser Shōchū wird aus Gerste gewonnen und gilt in Japan als am weitesten verbreitet. Sein Geschmack ist eher neutral und bietet keine außergewöhnlichen Aromen. Mugi Shōchū ist in der Regel sehr klar. Es gibt aber auch Sorten die in Eichenfässern gelagert werden, was ihnen ein bernsteinfarbenes Erscheinungsbild verschafft. Durch seinen milden Charakter kann Mugi Shōchū gut pur mit Eis getrunken werden.

    Imo Shōchū

    Bei Imoshōchū handelt es sich um Shōchū aus Süßkartoffeln, dem ein eher starker Eigengeschmack nachgesagt wird. Aus diesem Grund eignet sich dieser Shōchū sehr gut als Begleitung zu gehaltvollem Essen wie zum Beispiel der japanischen Nudelsuppe Rāmen. Die Qualität von Imojōchū hängt sehr stark von der Güte der verwendeten Süßkartoffel ab, weswegen es immense geschmackliche Unterschiede bei verschiedenen Imojōchū geben kann.

    Kome Shōchū

    Als Kome Shōchū wird Shōchū bezeichnet, dem als Grundstoff Reis zugrunde liegt. Es wird ausschließlich kurzkörniger Japonica-Reis verwendet, der ihm einen gewissen Eigengeschmack verleiht. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Shōchū-Spezialitäten weist Kome Shōchū oftmals einen leicht süßlichen Geschmack auf und erinnert dank des gemeinsamen Ausgangsstoffs mehr an Sake als andere Shōchū.

    Kokutō Shōchū

    Shōchū aus Zuckerrohr wird Kokutō Shōchū genannt und ist mitunter etwas fruchtiger als andere Shōchūs. Vor allem Speisen, die stark von Sojasauce geprägt werden, schmecken sehr gut, wenn Sie zu ihnen einen leckeren Kokutō Shōchū probieren. Sehr empfehlenswert ist der Sato No Akebono Gold Shōchū, welcher von der in der Präfektur Kagoshima gelegenen Insel Amami-guntō stammt und aus braunem Rohrzucker besteht. Dieser einzigartige Shōchū, der mit 43% vol. Alkoholgehalt für einen Shōchū sehr hochprozentig ist, besticht aber nicht nur durch seinen feinen Geschmack, sondern auch durch seine leicht goldene Farbe, die er durch eine etwa dreijährige Lagerung in Eichenfässern erhält.

    Kuri Shōchū

    Aus Edelkastanie hergestellter Kuri Shōchū ist auch in Japan etwas Besonderes und ist insbesondere für sein fast schon intensives Aroma bekannt.

    Gyūnyū Shōchū

    Ebenfalls sehr exotisch ist Gyūnyū Shōchū, der aus Milch gewonnen wird und durch sein sehr mildes Aroma überzeugt. Da Milch in Japan bei weitem nicht so verbreitet ist wie in Deutschland, dürfte das aber ein eher exotisches Vergnügen sein…

    Awamori

    Eine Sonderstellung nimmt Awamori Shōchū ein, der von der Insel Okinawa stammt. 

    Im Gegensatz zu allen anderen Shōchū Sorten wird Awamori nämlich nicht mit weißem Kōji Schimmelpilzkulturen versetzt, sondern mit schwarzem. 

    Außerdem wird für Awamori ein anderer Reis als normalerweise verwendet. Denn für ihn wird aus Thailand stammender Indica-Reis genutzt, der langkörniger ist als der für die Produktion von Shōchū übliche Japonica-Reis. Einige Experten sehen Awamori aufgrund dieser Unterschiede auch nicht als Shōchū, sondern als verwandtes Getränk. Der Alkoholgehalt von Awamori ist oft höher als bei Shōchū, oft sind es um die 40 %, wir haben aber auch schon 60 % erlebt.

    Shōchū als Alternative zum europäischen Schnaps

    Für japanische Verhältnisse ist Shōchū sehr hochprozentig. Denn der Alkoholgehalt von Shōchū liegt bei 25 bis 43% Vol. Dies ist im Vergleich zu europäischen Spirituosen zwar nicht sehr viel, sorgt aber trotzdem dafür, dass guter Shōchū auch Liebhaber von Schnaps in Verzücken versetzt. 

    Wie ist das Aroma von Shōchū?

    Wie erwähnt ist Shōchū nicht dafür bekannt, über einen sehr intensiven Geschmack zu verfügen. Dies stimmt auch im Bezug auf normalen Shōchū, der mehr als einmal destilliert wurde oder aus relativ geschmacksneutralen Grundstoffen wie Geste oder Reis besteht. 

    Aber je intensiver Sie sich mit der Spirituose Shōchū beschäftigen, desto mehr Nuancen werden Sie wahrnehmen. Vor allem wenn ein Shōchū aus eher exotischen Zutaten wie Buchweizen oder Esskastanie hergestellt wurde. Als eher geschmacksintensiv gelten Shōchū, wenn sie aus Süßkartoffel oder Zuckerrohr destilliert wurden. Grundsätzlich fehlt Shōchū in der Regel die Fruchtigkeit und es handelt sich um ein eher trockenes Trinkvergnügen.

    Ideal als Begleitung zu Speisen - so präsentiert sich Shōchū

    Für uns als Europäer ist der Gedanke zum Essen ein anderes alkoholisches Getränk als Wein oder Bier zu genießen, eher fremd. Spirituosen werden eigentlich nur als Aperitif oder Digestif gereicht. Dies ist in Japan aber vollkommen anders, denn sowohl Shōchū wie übrigens auch Whisky (als Highball) werden oft und gerne direkt zum Essen getrunken. Geschmacklich passt Shōchū zum Beispiel perfekt zu Fisch. Aber auch gehaltvolle Speisen entfalten einen besonderen Zauber, wenn Sie zu ihnen einen ausgewählten Shōchū kosten.

    Wie wird Shōchū getrunken?

    Natürlich haben die detaillverliebten Japaner zahlreiche Arten ersonnen, wie man Shōchū am besten geniessen kann. Hier die gängstigen Varianten.

    Straight (ストレート)

    Honkaku Shōchū mit einem Alkoholgehalt von etwa 20 Prozent trinkt man am besten pur, ohne jegliche Zusätze. Er ist ideal, um das ursprüngliche Aroma und den Geschmack von Shōchū zu genießen.

    On the rocks (オン・ザ・ロック)

    Mit Eiswürfeln genießen. Geeignet für Shōchū mit hohem Alkoholgehalt. Wichtig ist, dass das Glas zunächst mit Eis gefüllt und ausreichend gekühlt wird, bevor der Shōchū hineingegossen wird.

    Mizu-wari (水割り)

    Mit Wasser mischen. Der goldene Schnitt von Shōchū und Wasser lautet 6:4, also sechs Anteile Shōchū und vier Anteile Wasser. „Maewari (前割り)“ ist auch eine empfohlene Art, bei der der Shōchū im Voraus mit Wasser vermischt und einen Tag lang ruhen gelassen wird, da dies den Shōchū besonders weich macht.

    Soda-wari (ソーダ割り)

    Mit Sodawasser mischen. Besonders im Sommer zu empfehlen, da er erfrischend und leicht zu trinken ist. Es wäre auch gut, Zitrusfrüchte wie Limetten oder Zitronen hinzuzufügen, um den Geschmack zu erfrischen.

    Oyu-wari (お湯割り)

    Empfohlen zum Trinken im Winter mit heißem Wasser vermischt. Gießen Sie zuerst das heiße Wasser und dann den Shōchū ein, so dass sich das Aroma des Shōchū mit dem heißen Wasser vermischt und Sie auch den Duft genießen können.

    Umeboshi-wari (梅干し割り)

    Fügen Sie dem Shōchū einfach Umeboshi (japanische Salz-Pflaumen) hinzu, so wie Sie ihn gerne trinken – auf Eis, mit Wasser oder heißem Wasser. Die Zugabe von Umeboshi mildert den typischen Geruch des Shōchū und macht ihn zu einem erfrischenden Getränk.

    Kan-tsuke (燗つけ)

    Am Vortag wird der Shōchū mit gewünschten Menge Wasser vermischt, die dann in einem Sake-Gefäß, im Japanischen „Joka (じょか)“ genannt, erwärmt wird. Dies ist immer noch die ultimative Art, Shōchū zu trinken, und viele Kenner sind der Meinung, dass man nur durch Erwärmen den Geschmack, die Süße und das tiefe, weiche Aroma des Shōchū genießen kann.

    Shōchū wird in Japan oft fertig gemischt angeboten

    Aufgrund seines dezenten Eigengeschmacks wird Shōchū gerne zum mixen mit anderen Getränken genutzt. Sehr beliebt ist beispielsweise das Mixgetränk Chūhai, welches aus Shōchū, Soda und Fruchtaroma besteht. Angeboten werden unter anderem die Geschmacksrichtungen Zitrone, Grapefruit und Apfel. Dieser vor allem von jungen Japanern geschätzte Drink ist in Japan sogar schon fertig gemixt in Dosen erhältlich. Ein weiteres verbreitetes Rezept für einen Drink mit Shōchū sieht vor, ihn mit Oolong-Tee zu mischen. Wenn Sie Shōchū lieber pur probieren möchten, können sie ihn im Sommer mit etwas Eis aufpeppen oder im Winter heißes Wasser hinzugeben. 

    Sake und Shōchū - zwei Getränke die sich ähneln, aber einen unterschiedlichen Charakter haben

    Der aromenreiche japanische „Reiswein“ Sake wird eigentlich gebraut wie ein Bier, in einem speziellen Prozess der multiplen Fermentation. Der wohl größte Unterschied zwischen der Herstellung von Sake und Shōchū besteht darin, dass Shōchū zusätzlich zu der Fermentation mit Kōji noch destilliert wird. Auch die Verwendung verschiedener Ausgangsstoffe macht sich sowohl qualitativ als auch geschmacklich bemerkbar. Außerdem kommen bei der Herstellung von Sake teilweise andere Kōji Schimmelpilze als bei Shōchū zum Einsatz. Daraus resultiert am Ende auch ein unterschied in Geschmack und Aroma, da Sake eher fruchtig und gehaltvoll ist, während Shōchū eher trocken und erdig beschrieben werden kann. 

    Shōchū gilt auch als weniger traditionell im Gegensatz zu Sake, was schon dadurch deutlich wird, dass Shōchū frei übersetzt in etwa „Branntwein“ bedeutet, also eher als einfache Spirituose gesehen wird. 

    Nicht zuletzt hat Shōchū durch die Destillation einen höheren Alkoholgehalt als Sake. So liegt der Alkoholgehalt bei Sake im Bereich 15% Vol., während Shōchū einen Alkoholanteil von ca 25% Vol. hat. Auch wenn viele Produzenten inzwischen sehr anspruchsvolle Varianten dieses Getränks herstellen an die Qualität von hochwertigem Sake kommt Shōchū in der Regel nicht heran.

    Dennoch hat Shōchū seinen festen Platz in der japanischen Trinkkultur und findet vor allem in den Varianten on the rocks oder oyuwari zunehmend seinen Weg nach Europa.

    Quellen:

    https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sh%C5%8Dch%C5%AB

    https://taz.de/Japanischer-Shch-Schnaps/!5593277/

    https://www.nipponboutique.com/de/auswahl-an-likoren-aus-japan/6340-japanischer-shochu-shoshu-japan-4904670022736.html

    https://www.japandigest.de/reisen/essen/sake-und-shochu-in-deutschland-interview/

    Klicken Sie auf den unteren Button, um den Inhalt von mixology.eu zu laden.

    Inhalt laden

    https://www.rumundco.de/magazin/shochu/

    https://www.japandigest.de/reisen/essen/trinken/alles-ueber-japans-alkohol/

    https://galumbi.de/blog/2020/03/17/sato-no-akebono-gold-shochu-negroni-amami-breeze/

    Klicken Sie auf den unteren Button, um den Inhalt von galumbi.de zu laden.

    Inhalt laden