Black money in the catering industry - myth or reality? | SUSHIYA sansaro

Black money in the catering industry - myth or reality?

Table of contents

There is always talk about the restaurant industry being a black money industry. 

For many modern restaurateurs who try to run a business professionally and meet all legal requirements, this illegitimate blanket condemnation hurts their souls. 

After all, running a food restaurant these days and thus being economically successful while at the same time offering high quality is an extreme economic tightrope walk, where the customer can never imagine how many costs and charges are incurred before the first plate is on the table.

And yet it seems that even today there is still black money in the restaurant business, not only somewhere in a vacation paradise, but also here with us, here in Munich.

Gastronomy has a hard time in Germany

To say it in advance: We cannot "break the baton" over any restaurateur who rakes in black money.

Because the additional costs are extremely high, the appreciation for food and gastronomy in Germany proverbially low. We experience it ourselves again and again that even professional restaurant testers mention restaurants that have a great ambience - but the food is not worth the money from our (Japanophile, quality-oriented) point of view.

Germany, and here apparently above all Munich, simply has a problem recognizing quality as such and not confusing it with ambience. 

Fiscal built-in disadvantage for restaurants

And at the same time, for many years, taxation of food in restaurants at 19% made the catering industry a cash cow for the tax authorities: every piece of food purchased with 7% sales tax by the chef or end customer automatically had to be charged 19% sales tax in the restaurant. This was then contrasted by delivery services, which were booming even before Corona, and only had to pay 7%. 

Comparing the prices, there has thus been a negative internal margin of a whopping 12% compared to retail prices for food or delivery services - no wonder that restaurants have struggled existentially to survive. In the long term, by the way, this tax disadvantage for the restaurant industry should be permanently abolished.

Who pays taxes creates basis for his business

At the same time, one can also look at it this way: especially in times of Corona, we can be thankful that we have a well-organized and well-managed welfare state. 

Every restaurateur also benefits from framework conditions created by the state. Ultimately, food safety, functioning roads for supply chains, unemployment benefits and short-time working benefits benefit all of us, including restaurateurs. All of this is also financed by taxes and duties.

And so the question of black money is then no longer just a question of control risks or of basic compliance with the law, but it is also a question of fairness towards the state (which is supposed to safeguard the foundations of the common good), towards other taxpayers and above all towards the restaurateurs themselves. 

Because the one who earns black money or pays with black money has an illegal competitive advantage over the one who pays his taxes correctly and taxes his employees correctly.

Unintentional mistakes can happen quickly in the rule madness

Here, too, a caveat: the rules are so complicated today, the companies are subject to so many checks, mutual rule restrictions, that mistakes can always simply happen somewhere. 

Especially in the Corona period, we have experienced a madness of subsidy conditions, short-time working conditions, state operating restrictions, special regional rules, etc., which at times even professionals (incl. tax consultants!) can hardly keep track of. 

Add to this the "normal" working time laws, customer expectations, vacation and break regulations - and a small restaurant would theoretically have to employ one person full-time just to monitor and document the rules and keep track of them in the operational team!

Here, Germany is definitely over-regulated and the administrative authorities must also be aware of this, see it and sometimes react with a sense of proportion. And the restaurant business is traditionally an industry that is in the spotlight - little revenue, no reserves, but auditors who scrutinize every nook and cranny for possible errors. So you have to leave the church in the village somewhere. 

Thus, a blanket classification of the restaurant industry as a black money industry is not appropriate, nor does it reflect the reality of today's world, even though the restaurant industry is considered a proverbial easy target for tax audits.

Deliberate fraud with criminal energy

But there is also deliberate fraud - and quite honestly, we are also blindsided when we realize how much better a business can apparently run when you work with black money. Two examples from practice:

Example #1: Black money distorts competition

Of course, the entire restaurant industry is in competition with each other for good employees. 

Since we are in the restaurant sansaro actually only rely on Japanese employees, the market for us is even more limited. And all the more so because Japanese cuisine requires notoriously more preparation and therefore more staff than many other cuisines.

One day in 2019, we had a kitchen assistant who had been working for us as a temp. A so-called low-income job, i.e. maximum 450 euros. The kitchen assistant worked well, but after a short time we received a problematic response based on her social security registration: she was apparently also registered elsewhere. We actually ask about this when hiring new staff, but the answers from employees here are not always entirely reliable.

As a result, we had to recalculate the net salary to be paid to this employee and make appropriate deductions. The job with us effectively became uninteresting for her, as there wasn't much left after tax. Somehow, the kitchen assistant even got the impression that we were to blame for this, because she could get a job elsewhere. She simply wasn't getting as much money out of us as she thought.

Because in another company, which also produces sushi in the broadest sense, she could also work her 20 hours per week at the same time (!) without any problems - and get exactly the money she had imagined. 

There it was strangely possible to work in a second job without the taxation getting worse. Very clear statement at the time: what matters to her is how much she gets in cash, not whether the company is honorable enough to tax everything correctly.

With black money, doing business becomes much easier

A few years later, we meet an old business partner who is also peripherally involved with this restaurant. He says en passant: "Ah yes, they now have three stores and the boss now drives a Porsche". For us, it all comes together in the picture...

It can happen so quickly: from underdog with a sympathetic story in the newspaper to top earner in just a few years?

Now we may not care which boss drives which car - but instinctively one remembers how even in front of the last coffee shop sometimes the most expensive Mercedes or BMW SUV's are parked, while elsewhere one wonders how to earn one's money.

Because on average, even a very simple employee who earns 1,440 euros net, for example, does not cost us 1,440 euros or, with employer charges, 2,047 euros. On average, we pay 1.66 euros for every 1.00 euros we pay out to the employee - taking advantage of all the permitted surcharges with considerable administrative effort. It costs us much more. Because correct working also requires correct recording of hours. This results in certain break times, which in turn massively increases the effort required for duty roster creation and documentation. This means that someone has to record the exact working hours, someone has to transfer the actual working hours to a suitable program, i.e. an internal administrative burden. This is followed by a rat's tail of other costs such as the employers' liability insurance association, payroll administration and so on, some of which are calculated on the basis of working hours and increase accordingly. And we haven't even included paid vacation yet. And that's the problem: many of the sensible, understandable, important rules and laws mean that in the already extremely labor-intensive and low-profit gastronomy sector, you actually have to employ administrative staff, pay them and calculate them in the menu prices, who ultimately don't work for the guest or serve or benefit them in any way. And this has a disproportionately high impact on small businesses in particular. 

Without black money, ancillary costs and administrative expenses increase significantly

Things like the minimum wage and the Working Hours Act are good ideas, but they also lead to a sometimes absurd administrative burden that a small restaurant can only afford with considerable effort. This drives up costs - so it's no wonder that a business that takes a more relaxed view of all this has an easier time of it. And the workload here is also higher because the working hours are never really the same as in an office job. Customers come in at different times, more or less, in a restaurant all hands have to be on deck, and there are no resources for administrative tasks (which restaurateurs are required to do by law, especially due to public holidays and night work, etc.).

But what hurts us: this described company will also look more and more attractive for most employees. Because everything is less complicated, everything is easier, much less pressure on the system. 

And we have never seen a guest who says he likes to come to us because we keep correct time sheets every month and because we pay attention to a duty roster in which the maximum weekly working hours are somehow adhered to even when customer frequency changes. By the way, the high density of regulations is pushing the catering industry in the direction of system catering, but that's another topic...

Example #2: the gold mine

Case 2: a restaurant in Munich, very close to example #1, which, funnily enough, also runs a snack bar. Through a chain of interesting circumstances, which we will relate on occasion, we gain an intimate insight behind the scenes of this restaurant. 

The hygiene situation and other things shock us - but it's also understandable that the employees there see things quite differently than we do. After all, at some point you also become blind to the business, and survival in the catering industry is not easy for anyone, especially when the business is hopelessly understaffed, as we know from years of contact.

But we are really shocked by our visit to the adjacent snack bar: while we are there, the cash register, which is always open, is almost never operated. All the alarm bells are ringing: haven't we just read in the Süddeutsche and other newspapers long Tirades about Bonpflicht and that the catering industry needs to be audited more closely because it often cheats? Wouldn't an auditor have to see through what's going on right away on the first visit? Didn't we just hear about a renowned Japanese restaurant in Munich that was just surrounded and inspected by customs and police while it was in operation?

Tricking the examiner becomes a sport

No, one of the employees tells us. One does this very cleverly and pays attention to whether any "atypical guests" are in the queue. One tells the auditor one thing and does another, for example in the question of how much empty packaging is purchased and how much packaging is given out per guest & meal and so on. With an elaborate system, the actual working hours would be disguised, so that half of the staff would officially work as 450 Euro employees, but actually work full time. Otherwise it wouldn't be worth it, because everyone would have several jobs - so again a similar case to the other restaurant.

And in general, there is a lady in the office who does an absolutely brilliant job when someone comes from the KVR or the tax office. The woman is amazing, she wraps up everyone. The interlocking of preparatory accounting and snack runs perfectly. 

The employees there proudly tell us how ingeniously everything runs, what kind of wild stories were made in the past. Hours of work that were billed as artistic appearances via invoices for events, bundles of money that were always taken out for the owner by friends - all apparently no problem if you do it right. 

And we can relate: the lady in the office tells us similar things and stories about how she had to secure the black money from her bosses in order to use it for the business, i.e. to supplement the employees' salaries, including her own of course, with black money every month. 

In the course of the conversation, we realize that the lady has been washed by all means and has built up her own little empire. Not all black money is apparently used for a Porsche (or, as in this case, a BMW Mini that was supposedly won) - sometimes it seems to be a bare necessity for the survival of a business. Or to secure the office lady a sensationally paid part-time job that other restaurateurs can only dream of...

Where people work with black money, they also like to use cheap material?

Our ideas about correct taxation, high-quality materials, etc. seem like a total anachronism there. If meat is missing, it is quickly bought cheaply at the discount store. The employees proudly tell us that they do all this quickly in working hours that are not officially recorded, but are already covered by the black money. 

We shudder just thinking about buying cheap meat for our guests. Well, for a snack bar that wants to be as cheap as possible, it may work to buy material in this way. Competition is tough and you have to adapt to your customers. But consciously taking criminal risks such as illegal money or fraudulent working hours would be unthinkable for us, and buying poor quality is simply not an option for us.

But it seems to be paying off: "The  (restaurant name) is a goldmine - if you do it right!", the lady in charge at the office keeps telling us. In the course of time, we have the impression that employees and bosses have built up a lucrative system there, which may even have financed the house in Italy or Thailand...

Tricking the auditor seemed almost like a sport to us in this operation - a sport that is certainly more fun than the arduous marathon of keeping all possible records as accurate as possible and actually aligning the restaurant's processes with them.

Black money less complicated and more positive for employees

And of course, working in such a restaurant is also much, much easier: no precise recording of working hours, means no discussion for the employee about why he can't record his breaks as working time (sic!). Because in the end it doesn't matter when and how much he works - as long as it suits him and somehow seems to suit the boss.

Any salary discussion with a leading employee becomes significantly easier. You want 100 euros more net? Okay, you get 100 euros more or not. Elsewhere it means: You want 100 euros more? That's a cost increase of about 250 euros for executives - "only" 100 euros doesn't exist. Because with higher salaries the additional costs increase progressively, of course. 

In such a company, many employees feel much more comfortable - especially if they do not have to pay money from their pay slips to their ex-wife, who of course does not see any of the black money...

The operator and the employees obviously have a much more relaxed life and a much easier gastronomic survival thanks to creative cash flows. And by the time the tax office gets wise to such people, they're long gone. 

The one who wants to work correctly remains the stupid one.

The guest has it in his hands!

For the guest everything remains the same: the service will serve him well. He, the guest, goes where he feels welcome and where his respective expectations of cleanliness, ambience, taste, etc. are met. at least in appearance be fulfilled. 

The guest doesn't see whether work is done this way or that behind the scenes - nor does he need to be interested, per se. No one has to force this issue on him, he should have a good time and enjoy his meal and decide where he wants to go. It is the task of the authorities to control compliance with the law and to enforce it.

But in terms of fairness, competitive equality, and overall fiscal equity, it's a critical difference. And even a few bad apples spoil the basket, have an impact on the industry. Because employees see the advantage for themselves where they can get the most out and work the easiest. Guests feel more comfortable where they have to pay less or the operator has more money left for great ambience. 

And anyway: would you rather trust a restaurant where the boss drives a Porsche - or one where the boss comes along in a rusty old clunker?

Sharing pleasure in Japanese

SUSHIYA is passionate about Japanese cuisine and culture. In our restaurant sansaro you can encounter the fascinating Japanese cuisine or have it delivered to your home. On our homepage, Facebook and Instragram we always give insights into news and interesting topics.

Schwarzgeld in der Gastronomie – Mythos oder Realität?

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Es wird immer davon geredet, die Gastronomie sei eine Schwarzgeldbranche. 

Viele moderne Gastronomen, die versuchen, einen Betrieb professionell zu führen und sämtlichen gesetzlichen Anforderungen gerecht zu werden, tut diese illegitime Pauschalverurteilung in der Seele weh. 

Denn ein Speiserestaurant heutzutage zu führen und damit wirtschaftlich erfolgreich zu sein und gleichzeitig hohe Qualität anzubieten ist eine extreme wirtschaftliche Gratwanderung, bei der der Kunde sich niemals vorstellen kann, wieviele Kosten und Abgaben entstehen, bevor der erste Teller auf dem Tisch steht.

Und dennoch scheint es auch heute noch Schwarzgeld in der Gastronomie zu geben, nicht nur irgendwo in einem Urlaubsparadies, sondern auch bei uns, hier in München.

Gastronomie hat in Deutschland einen schweren Stand

Um es vorab zu sagen: Wir können über keinen Gastronomen „den Stab brechen“, der Schwarzgeld einstreicht.

Denn die Nebenkosten sind extrem hoch, die Wertschätzung für Speisen und Gastronomie in Deutschland sprichwörtlich niedrig. Wir erleben es selber immer wieder, dass sogar von professionellen Restaurant-Testern Restaurants erwähnt werden, die ein tolles Ambiente haben — aber das Essen aus unserer (japanophilen, qualitätsorientierten) Sicht ihr Geld nicht wert sind.

Deutschland, und hier offenbar vor allem München, hat einfach ein Problem damit, Qualität als solche zu erkennen und nicht mit Ambiente zu verwechseln. 

Steuerlich eingebaute Benachteiligung der Restaurants

Und gleichzeitig hat über viele Jahre hinweg eine Besteuerung von Speisen in Restaurants mit 19% die Gastronomie zur Cash-Cow für die Finanzverwaltung gemacht: jedes Stück Lebensmittel, was mit 7% Umsatzsteuer vom Koch oder Endkunden eingekauft wird, musste im Restaurant automatisch mit 19% Umsatzsteuer belegt werden. Demgegenüber standen dann auch die auch vor Corona schon boomenden Lieferservices, die nur 7% abführen mussten. 

Im Vergleich der Preise ergab sich also bisher eine negative Innenmarge von satten 12% gegenüber Endkundenpreisen für Lebensmittel oder Lieferdiensten — kein Wunder, dass die Restaurants existentiell damit zu kämpfen hatten, zu überleben. Langfristig gehört diese steuerliche Benachteiligung der Gastronomie übrigens dauerhaft abgeschafft.

Wer Steuern zahlt schafft Grundlage für sein Geschäft

Gleichzeitig kann man es auch so sehen: gerade in Zeiten von Corona können wir dankbar sein, dass wir einen gut organisierten und gut verwalteten Sozialstaat haben. 

Jeder Gastronom profitiert auch von Rahmenbedingungen, die der Staat geschaffen hat. Letztendlich kommen Lebensmittelsicherheit, funktionierende Straßen für Lieferketten, Arbeitslosengeld und Kurzarbeitergeld uns allen, auch den Gastronomen zugute. Das alles wird auch durch Steuern und Abgaben finanziert.

Und so ist die Frage des Schwarzgelds dann nicht mehr nur eine Frage von Kontrollrisiken oder von grundsätzlicher Gesetzestreue, sondern es auch eine Frage der Fairness gegenüber dem Staat (der Grundlagen des Gemeinwohls sichern soll), gegenüber anderen Steuerzahlern und vor allem den Gastronomen untereinander. 

Denn derjenige, der Schwarzgeld verdient oder mit Schwarzgeld bezahlt hat einen illegalen Wettbewerbsvorteil gegenüber demjenigen, der seine Steuern korrekt abführt und seine Mitarbeiter korrekt versteuert.

Unbeabsichtigte Fehler können im Regelwahnsinn schnell passieren

Auch hier ein Caveat: die Regeln sind heute so kompliziert, die Betriebe so vielfachen Prüfungen, gegenseitigen Regelverschränkungen unterworfen, dass immer irgendwo auch einfach Fehler passieren können. 

Gerade auch in der Corona-Zeit haben wir einen Wahnsinn aus Förderungsbedingungen, Kurzarbeitsbedingungen, staatlichen Betriebseinschränkungen, regionalen Sonderregeln etc. erlebt, der zuweilen auch für Profis (inkl. Steuerberater!) kaum mehr durchblickbar ist. 

Dazu kommen dann die „normalen“ Arbeitszeitgesetze, die Vorstellungen der Kunden, Urlaubs- und Pausenregelungen und schon muss ein kleines Restaurant theoretisch eine Person vollständig Vollzeit beschäftigen, um überhaupt den Tag richtig zu beginnen und zu beenden und alles dann auch noch umfassend zu dokumentieren. 

Hier ist Deutschland definitiv überreguliert und auch die Verwaltungsbehörden müssen das wissen, sehen und zuweilen auch mit Augenmaß reagieren. Und die Gastronomie ist traditionell eine Branche, die im Fokus steht — wenig Ertrag, keine Reserven, aber Betriebsprüfer, die jeden Winkel auf mögliche Fehler durchleuchten. Also muss man die Kirche irgendwo im Dorf lassen. Eine pauschale Einstufung der Gastronomie als Schwarzgeldbranche ist nicht angemessen und trifft auch nicht die Realität der heutigen Zeit.

Beispiel#1: Schwarzgeld verzerrt den Wettbewerb

Aber es gibt auch bewussten Betrug – und ganz ehrlich: wir sind auch vor den Kopf gestossen, wenn wir mitbekommen, wie viel besser ein Betrieb offenbar laufen kann, wenn man mit Schwarzgeld arbeitet. Zwei Beispiele aus der Praxis:

Schwarzgeld verzerrt Wettbewerb

Natürlich steht die gesamte Gastronomie im Wettbewerb um gute Mitarbeiter miteinander. 

Da wir im Restaurant sansaro eigentlich nur auf japanische Mitarbeiter setzen, ist der Markt für uns nochmal begrenzter. Und das umsomehr, als die japanische Küche einen notorisch höheren Vorbereitungs- und damit Personalaufwand hat, als viele andere Küchen.

Eines Tages im Jahr 2019 hatten wir eine Küchenhilfe, die als Aushilfe bei uns gearbeitet hatte. Ein sogenannter Geringverdiener-Job, also maximal 450 Euro. Die Küchenhilfe hat gut gearbeitet, aber nach kurzer Zeit kam eine problematische Rückmeldung auf Basis ihrer SV-Anmeldung: sie war offenbar woanders auch angemeldet. Eigentlich fragen wir sowas auch bei Neueinstellungen ab, aber nicht immer sind die Antworten der Mitarbeiter hier ganz präzise.

Der Job bei uns wurde damit aber effektiv uninteressant für sie, da nach Steuer nicht mehr viel übrig blieb. Irgendwie blieb bei der Küchenhilfe der Eindruck hängen, dass wir daran schuld wären, denn woanders ging es ja auch. Sie bekam von uns schlichtweg nicht so viel Geld raus, wie sie dachte.

Denn in einem anderen Betrieb, der im weitesten Sinne auch Sushi herstellt, konnte sie auch problemlos ihre 20 Stunden pro Woche arbeiten – und genau das Geld bekommen, was sie sich vorgestellt hatte. Dort war es komischerweise möglich, in einem zweiten Job zu arbeiten, ohne dass die Versteuerung schlechter wurde. Ganz klare Aussage damals: ihr kommt es drauf an, wieviel sie bar auf die Hand bekommt, nicht, ob der Betrieb so ehrenvoll ist, das alles korrekt zu versteuern.

Mit Schwarzgeld wird das wirtschaften viel leichter

Ein paar Jahre später treffen wir einen alten Geschäftspartner, der mit diesem Restaurant am Rande auch zu tun hat. Er sagt en passant: „Ah ja, die haben inzwischen drei Läden und der Chef fährt jetzt einen Porsche“. So schnell kanns gehen, in wenigen Jahren vom Underdog mit einer sympathischen Story in der Zeitung zum Spitzenverdiener?

Nun kann es uns egal sein, welcher Chef welches Auto fährt — aber instinktiv erinnert man sich daran, wie auch vor dem letzten Coffeeshop manchmal die teuersten Mercedes- oder BMW-SUV´s stehen, während man sich andernorts fragt, wie man sein Geld verdienen soll.

Denn im Schnitt kostet uns schon ein ganz einfacher Mitarbeiter, der beispielsweise 1.440 Euro netto verdient, eben nicht 1.440 Euro oder mit Arbeitgeberbelastung 2.047 Euro. Im Schnitt zahlen wir – unter Ausnutzung aller erlaubten Zuschläge mit erheblichem Verwaltungsaufwand – 1,66 Euro pro 1,00 Euro, den wir an den Mitarbeiter auszahlen. Es kostet uns noch weit mehr.

Denn ein korrektes Arbeiten bedingt auch eine korrekte Stundenaufzeichnung. Daraus ergeben sich bestimmte Pausenzeiten und das wiederum erhöht den Aufwand für Dienstplan-Erstellung und Dokumentation massiv. 

Ohne Schwarzgeld steigen Nebenkosten und Verwaltungsaufwand erheblich

Es folgt: jemand muss die genauen Arbeitszeiten aufzeichnen, jemand muss die tatsächlichen Arbeitszeiten in ein geeignetes Programm übertragen, also ein interner Verwaltungsaufwand. Es folgt weiterhin ein Rattenschwanz von weiteren Kosten wie die Berufsgenossenschaft, Lohnverwaltung und und und, die sich teilweise nach Arbeitsstunden ermitteln und entsprechend steigen. Und den bezahlten Urlaub haben wir jetzt noch gar nicht eingerechnet.

Dinge wie Mindestlohn und Arbeitszeitgesetz sind gute Ideen, aber führen auch zu einem teilweise absurden Verwaltungsaufwand, den ein kleines Restaurant nur mit erheblichen Anstrengungen leisten kann. Das treibt die Kosten in die Höhe – kein Wunder, dass es sich ein Betrieb leichter macht, der das alles entspannter sieht. Und der Aufwand hier ist auch deshalb höher, weil die Arbeitszeiten eigentlich nie wie in einem Büro sind. Die Kunden kommen zu unterschiedlichen Zeiten mehr oder weniger, in einem Restaurant müssen alle Hände mit anpacken, für behördenartige Verwaltung (die aber von den Gastronomen gefordert ist, insbesondere aufgrund von Feiertags- und Nachtarbeit usw.) fehlen die Ressourcen.

Was uns aber weh tut: dieser geschilderte Betrieb wird für die meisten Mitarbeiter auch immer attraktiver wirken. Denn es ist alles unkomplizierter, alles einfacher, viel weniger Druck auf dem System. 

Und noch nie haben wir einen Gast gesehen, der sagt, er kommt gerne zu uns weil wir jeden Monat korrekte Arbeitszeitlisten führen und weil wir auf einen Dienstplan achten, bei dem die wöchentliche Höchstarbeitszeit auch bei wechselnder Kundenfrequenz irgendwie eingehalten wird. Die hohe Regelungsdichte treibt die Gastronomie übrigens an der Stelle Richtung Systemgastronomie, aber das ist wieder ein anderes Thema…

Zweites Beispiel: die Goldgrube

Fall 2: ein Restaurant in München, dass nebenher auch noch einen Imbiss betreibt. Aus einer Verkettung von interessanten Umständen, die wir bei Gelegenheit erzählen werden, erhalten wir intimen Einblick hinter die Kulissen dieses Restaurants. 

Hygienelage und andere Dinge schockieren uns — aber es ist auch verständlich, dass die dortigen Mitarbeiter das ganz anders sehen als wir. Schließlich wird man auch irgendwann mal betriebsblind und das Überleben in der Gastronomie ist für niemanden leicht, vor allem, wenn der Betrieb hoffnungslos unterbesetzt ist, wie wir durch jahrelangen Kontakt wissen.

Richtig schockiert uns aber der Besuch im angeschlossenen Imbiss: während wir dort sind, wird nahezu nie die stets offene Registrierkasse bedient. Bei uns klingeln alle Alarmglocken: haben wir nicht grad in der Süddeutschen und anderen Zeitungen lange Tiraden über Bonpflicht gelesen und dass die Gastronomie genauer geprüft werden müsse, weil sie oft betrüge? Müsste nicht ein Prüfer sofort beim ersten Besuch durchschauen, was hier vor sich geht? Haben wir nicht gerade von einem renommierten Japaner in München gehört, der gerade von Zoll und Polizei im laufenden Betrieb kontrolliert wurde?

Den Prüfer austricksen wird zum Sport

Nein, erzählt uns einer der Mitarbeiter. Man mache das sehr geschickt und achte darauf, ob irgendwelche „untypischen Gäste“ in der Schlange stehen. Man erzähle dem Prüfer die eine Sache und mache die andere, beispielsweise in der Frage, wieviel Leerverpackungen eingekauft würden und wieviel Verpackungen pro Gast & Mahlzeit ausgegeben würden und so weiter. Mit einem ausgefeilten System würden die tatsächlichen Arbeitszeiten verschleiert, so dass die Hälfte der Belegschaft offiziell als 450-Euro-Kräfte, tatsächlich aber Vollzeit arbeiten würden. Sonst würde es sich nicht lohnen, denn alle hätten ja mehrere Jobs.

Und überhaupt habe man im Büro eine Dame sitzen, die das absolut genial mache, wenn jemand vom KVR oder vom Finanzamt käme. Die Frau sei der Wahnsinn, die wickle jeden ein. Die Verzahnung von vorbereitender Buchhaltung und Imbiss laufe perfekt. 

Stolz erzählen uns die Mitarbeiter dort, wie genial alles laufe, was man früher schon alles für wilde Geschichten gemacht habe. Arbeitsstunden, die via Rechnungen für Events als künstlerischer Auftritt abgerechnet wurden, bündelweise Geld, was für den Inhaber immer durch Freunde rausgeschafft worden sei — alles offenbar kein Problem, wenn man´s richtig macht. 

Und wir können es nachvollziehen: die Dame im Büro erzählt uns ähnliche Sachen und Geschichten darüber, wie sie das Schwarzgeld von ihren Chefs sichern musste, um es für den Betrieb zu verwenden. Im Laufe der Gespräche merken wir, dass die Dame mit allen Wassern gewaschen ist und sich ihr eigenes kleines Reich aufgebaut hat. Nicht jedes Schwarzgeld dient offenbar für einen Porsche, so manchesmal scheint es nackte Überlebensnotwendigkeit für einen Betrieb zu sein. Oder um der Bürodame einen sensationell bezahlten Teilzeitjob zu sichern, von dem andere nur träumen können…

Wo mit Schwarzgeld gearbeitet wird, wird auch gerne billiges Material verwendet?

Unsere Vorstellungen von korrekter Versteuerung, von hochwertigem Material usw. wirken dort wie ein totaler Anachronismus. Wenn mal Fleisch fehlt, wird das auf die Schnelle billig beim Discounter eingekauft. Stolz erzählen die Mitarbeiter, dass sie das alles dann schnell in einer Arbeitszeit machen, die offiziell nicht aufgeschrieben wird, aber durch das Schwarzgeld ja schon gedeckt sei. 

Bei uns schüttelt es sich schon wenn wir nur dran denken, Billigfleisch für unsere Gäste einzukaufen. Gut, für einen Imbiss, der möglichst billig sein will, mag es funktionieren, Material so einzukaufen. Der Wettbewerb ist hart, man muss sich an die Kundschaft anpassen. Aber strafrechtliche Risiken wie Schwarzgeld oder Arbeitszeitbetrug bewusst einzugehen, wäre für uns nicht denkbar und schlechte Qualität kaufen, das geht für uns einfach nicht.

Doch es scheint sich zu lohnen: „Das (Restaurant-Name) ist eine Goldgrube — wenn mans richtig macht!“, sagt uns die zuständige Dame im Büro immer wieder.  Im Laufe er Zeit verdichtet sich bei uns der Eindruck, dass Mitarbeiter & Chefs sich dort ein einträgliches System aufgebaut haben, was vielleicht sogar das neue Auto oder das Haus in Italien finanziert hat…

Den Prüfer auszutricksen schien uns in diesem Betrieb fast schon ein Sport zu sein — ein Sport, der mit Sicherheit mehr Spaß macht, als der mühselige Marathonlauf, alle möglichen Aufzeichnungen möglichst korrekt zu machen und die Prozesse im Restaurant tatsächlich daran auszurichten.

Schwarzgeld unkomplizierter und positiver für die Mitarbeiter

Und natürlich ist auch in einem solchen Restaurant die Mitarbeit viel, viel einfacher: keine genaue Arbeitszeiterfassung, bedeutet für den Mitarbeiter keine Diskussion darüber, warum er seine Pausen nicht als Arbeitszeit aufzeichnen kann. Weil es letztlich egal ist, wann und wieviel er arbeitet – solange es für ihn passt und für den Chef irgendwie zu passen scheint.

Jede Gehaltsdiskussion mit einem führenden Mitarbeiter wird bedeutend einfacher. Du willst 100 Euro netto mehr? Ok, Du bekommst 100 Euro mehr oder nicht. Woanders bedeutet das: Du willst 100 Euro mehr? Das sind ca. 250 Euro Kostenerhöhung — „nur“ 100 Euro gibt es nicht. Denn mit höheren Gehältern steigen natürlich die Nebenkosten progressiv an. 

In einem solchen Betrieb fühlen sich viele Mitarbeiter viel wohler — vor allem, wenn sie vielleicht von ihrem Lohnzettel sogar nicht Geld an die Exfrau abdrücken müssen, denn die sieht von dem Schwarzgeld natürlich nix…

Der Betreiber und die Mitarbeiter haben offensichtlich ein deutlich entspannteres Leben und ein gastronomisch viel leichteres Überleben dank kreativer Bargeldflüsse. Und bis das Finanzamt solchen Leuten auf die Schliche kommt, sind die längst über alle Berge. Der, der korrekt arbeiten will, bleibt der Dumme.

Der Gast hats in der Hand!

Für den Gast bleibt sich alles gleich: der Service wird ihn gut bedienen. 

Er, der Gast, geht dorthin, wo er sich willkommen fühlt und wo seine jeweiligen Erwartungen an Sauberkeit, Ambiente, Geschmack etc. erfüllt werden. 

Ob hinter den Kulissen so oder so gearbeitet wird, sieht der Gast nicht — es braucht ihn an sich auch nicht zu interessieren. Niemand muss ihm dieses Thema aufdrängen, er soll eine gute Zeit haben und sein Essen geniessen und entscheiden, wo er hingehen will. Die Einhaltung der Gesetze zu kontrollieren und diese auch durchzusetzen ist Aufgabe der Behörden.

Aber im Sinne der Fairness, der Wettbewerbsgleichheit und der allgemeinen Steuergerechtigkeit ist es ein entscheidender Unterschied. Und auch wenige faule Äpfel verderben den Korb, haben Auswirkung auf die Branche. Denn Mitarbeiter sehen den Vorteil für sich dort, wo sie am meisten rausbekommen und am einfachsten arbeiten können. Gäste fühlen sich dort wohler, wo sie weniger zahlen müssen oder dem Betreiber mehr Geld für tolles Ambiente bleibt. 

Und überhaupt: würden Sie eher einem Restaurant vertrauen, wo der Chef Porsche fährt – oder einem, wo der Chef in einer rostigen, alten Klapperkiste daherkommt?

Kunstwerk
ami naito „51.600mm paper wave“

Origami ist eine der einziartigen japanischen Künste. Es gibt nahezu unendliche Möglichkeiten des Papierfaltens. In dieser Installation, wird es mit

Sushi Kurs im Sushi Restaurant Sushiya München
Rückblick Sushi-Kurs November 2017

Unseren ersten offiziellen Sushi-Kurs haben wir am 11. November abgehalten – hier auf Facebook ein kurzer Rückblick im Bild! Uns

Vorbereitungen für den Sushi Kurs im Sushi Restaurant Sushiya München
Probelauf für unseren Sushi-Kurs!

Die Vorbereitungen sind fast abgeschlossen – am Sonntag starten wir den Probelauf für unseren Sushi-Kurs! Seit Jahren werden wir danach