Chirashi sushi - a Japanese poke bowl? | SUSHIYA sansaro

Chirashi sushi - a Japanese poke bowl?

Table of contents

Chirashi sushi, a type of bowl with rice and sushi toppings, is now also available in Germany as a one of the different forms of sushi quite well known. However, there are two types of chirashi sushi. In both, the rice is served in a bowl or a special box. The ingredients are either sprinkled on top of the rice or stirred under the rice. 

And this is exactly where the name of the chirashi sushi (ちらし寿司) comes from: The Japanese verb chirasu (散らす) means nothing more than "to distribute" (Source).

Two kinds of chirashi sushi

In Japan, a distinction is made between chirashi sushi from the Kanto region (around Tokyo) and chirashi sushi from the Kansai region (around Osaka). Chirashi sushi from the Kanto region is also called nama chirashi (生ちらし), while chirashi sushi from the Kansai region is called gomoku chirashi (五目ちらし).

What is chirashi sushi or nama chirashi?

Chirashi sushi consists of raw sushi toppings cut into small pieces, as we know them from nigiri sushi. The small, very colorful pieces are scattered on the leavened rice, which creates a beautiful picture. Chirashi sushi is especially popular for the Doll Festival on March 3, Hinamatsuri, as well as served at family gatherings.

It is not known where the custom originated or how long chirashi sushi has existed in Japan. Since Hinamatsuri is traditionally considered a celebration of girls, especially colorful arrangements are common for chirashi sushi.

Nama-chirashi became really popular after the Meiji period (1868-1912) as a descendant of edomae sushi (江戸前寿司). Typically, a wide variety of fresh fish or seafood is used. Sometimes you read the term fukiyose sushi (吹き寄せ寿司) in this context. "Fukiyose" means to combine several things into one.

How to eat nama chirashi?

The best way to eat chirashi sushi is to pick up a piece of neta (topping) with your chopsticks, dip it in the soy sauce (on a separate small plate), put it back on the rice, and eat it all together (Source).

What is Gomoku-Chirashi?

Gomoku-Chirashi consists of various ingredients that are first cooked (prepared) and then mixed with the vinegar-sour rice. It is believed that gomoku chirashi has been known since the Kamakura period. The word "gomoku" literally means "five parts." However, it can also mean a whole range of things.

Gomoku chirashi consists of a variety of prepared and seasoned ingredients: shiitage, egg, kanpyo, lotus root and carrots, peas and more, which were mixed into the rice.

Sometimes you can also find the terms Maze Sushi (混ぜ寿司) or Bara Sushi (ばら寿司) for Gomoku Sushi.

The verb "mazeru" means to mix, the verb "barasu" means to divide something into parts.

Nowadays, however, the term bara-chirashi is also used when raw fish in small cubes is mixed in or sprinkled over the sushi rice. The boundaries between the different types of chirashi sushi are becoming increasingly blurred.

Important to know: Gomoku chirashi is not served with soy sauce, because the individual ingredients are already seasoned.

Sharing pleasure in Japanese

SUSHIYA is passionate about Japanese cuisine and culture. In our restaurant sansaro you can encounter the fascinating Japanese cuisine or have it delivered to your home. On our homepage, Facebook and Instragram we always give insights into news and interesting topics.

Flyer for Valentine's Day in Sushi Restaurant Sushiya Munich
Valentine's Day 2017

No evening is as coveted by us as New Year's Eve and Valentine's Eve: on these days our chefs traditionally always prepare very special menus.

read more "

Chirashi-Sushi – eine japanische Poke-Bowl?

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Chirashi-Sushi, eine Art Bowl mit Reis und Sushi-Topping, ist inzwischen in Deutschland auch als eine der verschiedenen Formen von Sushi recht bekannt. Allerdings gibt es zwei Arten von Chirashi-Sushi. Bei beiden wird der Reis in einer Schale oder einer speziellen Box serviert. Die Zutaten sind entweder oben auf den Reis gestreut oder unter den Reis gerührt. 

Und genau daher rührt der Name der Chirashi-Sushi (ちらし寿司): Das japanische Verb chirasu (散らす) heißt nichts anderes als „verteilen“ (Quelle).

Zwei Sorten Chirashi-Sushi

In Japan wird zwischen Chirashi-Sushi aus der Kanto-Region (rund um Tokyo) und Chirashi-Sushi aus der Kansai-Region (rund um Osaka) unterschieden. Chirashi-Sushi aus der Kanto-Region wird auch als Nama-Chirashi (生ちらし), Chirashi-Sushi aus der Kansai-Region als Gomoku-Chirashi (五目ちらし) bezeichnet.

Was ist Chirashi-Sushi oder Nama-Chirashi?

Chirashi-Sushi besteht aus rohen, kleingeschnittenen Sushi-Toppings, wie wir sie von Nigiri-Sushi kennen. Die kleinen, sehr farbenfrohen Stückchen werden auf dem gesäuerten Reis verstreut, was ein wunderschönes Bild ergibt. Chirashi-Sushi wird besonders gern zum Puppenfest am 3. März, Hinamatsuri, sowie bei Familienfeiern serviert.

Es ist nicht bekannt, woher der Brauch stammt oder wie lange es Chirashi-Sushi in Japan gibt. Da Hinamatsuri traditionell als ein Fest der Mädchen gilt, sind besonders farbenfrohe Arrangements bei Chirashi-Sushi üblich.

Wirklich populär wurde Nama-Chirashi nach der Meiji-Zeit (1868-1912) als ein Abkömmling von Edomae-Sushi (江戸前寿司). Typischerweise werden unterschiedlichste Arten frischer Fisch oder Meeresfrüchte verwendet. Manchmal liest man in diesem Zusammenhang auch den Begriff Fukiyose-Sushi (吹き寄せ寿司). „Fukiyose“ bedeutet, mehrere Dinge in eines zusammenzufassen.

Wie isst man Nama-Chirashi?

Die beste Art, Chirashi-Sushi zu essen ist, ein Stückchen Neta (Topping) mit den Stäbchen aufzunehmen, in die Sojasoße (auf einem separaten kleinen Teller) zu tauchen, es auf den Reis zurückzulegen und alles zusammen zu essen (Quelle).

Was ist Gomoku-Chirashi?

Gomoku-Chirashi besteht aus verschiedenen Zutaten, die zuerst gekocht (zubereitet) und anschließend mit dem essigsauren Reis vermischt werden. Man glaubt, dass Gomoku-Chirashi schon seit der Kamakura-Zeit bekannt ist. Das Wort „gomoku“ bedeutet wörtlich „fünf Teile“. Allerdings kann damit auch eine ganze Bandbreite an Dingen gemeint sein.

Gomoku-Chirashi besteht aus einer Vielfalt an zubereiteten und gewürzten Zutaten: Shiitage, Ei, Kanpyo, Lotuswurzel und Karotten, Erbsen und mehr, die in den Reis gemischt waren.

Manchmal findet man für Gomoku-Sushi auch die Bezeichnungen Maze-Sushi (混ぜ寿司) oder Bara-Sushi (ばら寿司).

Das Verb „mazeru“ bedeutet mischen, das Verb „barasu“ bedeutet, etwas in Teile zu zerlegen.

Heutzutage wird die Bezeichnung Bara-Chirashi aber auch verwendet, wenn roher Fisch in kleinen Würfeln unter den Sushireis gemischt oder darüber gestreut ist. Die Grenzen zwischen den einzelnen Sorten Chirashi-Sushi verwischen immer mehr.

Wichtig zu wissen: Gomoku-Chirashi wird nicht mit Sojasoße serviert, denn die einzelnen Zutaten sind bereits gewürzt.

Valentinstag im Sushi Restaurant Sushiya in München
Valentinstag 2019

Zum Valentinstag 2019 gibt es einen besonderen Liebesbrief von unserem Kreativkoch…