Hina-Matsuri - the festival of the girls on March 3 | SUSHIYA sansaro

Hina-Matsuri - the festival of the girls on March 3

Table of contents

Japanese cuisine and culture fascinates us and so we always like to tell culinary stories from Japan - this is about special food for a special day...

March 3 - Hina Matsuri, the girls' day

On March 3, Hina dolls are set up and decorated in Japan. On this "Girls' Day" (also known as the "Dolls' or Girls' Festival"), prayers are said for girls to grow up healthy and happy. 
This day is also called "Momo-Sekku" (桃の節句), "peach blossom festival", because at this time the peach blossom begins.
Hina dolls are lovingly decorated with peach and cherry blossoms and special dishes are eaten to celebrate the day, such as colorful diamond-shaped rice cakes (said to symbolize fertility), arare (pastel-colored sweet cube-shaped rice crackers), chirashi sushi (also lightly sweetened with fish and vegetables) and clear clam chowder. This festival is one of the most celebrated festivals and many colorful events are held throughout Japan on this day. 

How was Hina-matsuri created?

Hina-Matsuri was originally "Jōshi" (上巳) , one of the five "Sekku-"events (節句、seasonal festivals) originating from China. In ancient times, it was believed that evil spirits could enter people's bodies particularly easily around the time of "Setsubuku" - meaning turn of the seasons. 
In order to protect oneself against this, the custom developed in Japan of stroking one's stomach with paper dolls (which were supposed to symbolize humans and thus deceive the spirits) and then letting these dolls float away in a river (in "Jōshi") that flowed into the sea. In this way, the body was supposed to be cleansed of the impurities caused by the spirits, and the paper dolls were supposed to carry them away in the river. This custom is probably the origin of Nagashi-Bina, a special Hina-Matsuri event that still exists today.

In the Heian period (794 - 1185), when the celebration of the Sekku festivals began to take root, "Hina-Asobi" (雛遊び playing with dolls) also became very popular among the children of the nobility. The word "Hina" means a small, adorable thing, and it is believed that puppetry and "Jōshi" combined to form the original form of today's Hina-Matsuri festival.

Over time, the technique of doll making evolved, and especially in the Edo period (1603 - 1868), finer and more precious dolls were made. Since playing with dolls and girls' enjoyment of beautiful dolls were related, "Jōshi" gradually developed into a festival for girls, "Hina-Matsuri".

Hina dolls accompany a woman all her life

When a girl is born, it is customary for her maternal grandparents to give the child Hina dolls. These dolls are very preciously crafted and expensive and remain as a woman's property throughout her life, even if she is married. Often they are also inherited by many generations in the families.

Hina puppets are a group of puppets according to fixed rules. They consist of a ruling couple (O-Dairi-sama and O-Hina-sama), three females, sometimes referred to as servants but also as courtesans (Kanjo), five musicians, two guards (or ministers), and three other people who serve the high couple. The rulers, as well as their subordinates, are splendidly dressed, often in the traditional court dress of the Heian period. Bright red and gold tones add to the ostentatious impression. The entire court is arranged on a 5- to 7-tiered altar, often supplemented with furnishings and especially kitchen items. 

The original full court of the Hina-Matsuri doll festival.

One of the servants on the second step, in some arrangements, hands sake to the ruling couple ("Amazake", white sake enjoyed at the Hina festival in a slightly sweetened and alcohol-reduced form) - a sign of the drink's special significance.

However, since most families nowadays do not have large homes, it has become customary for the Hina dolls to consist only of the ruling couple.

Already in mid-February, the girls begin to decorate their Hina dolls. 
March 3 is then the climax with the day of the festival, after which traditionally the dolls should be put away immediately. This originally had its reason in that the dolls should be protected from the moisture of the beginning rainy season. But of course, there was a special meaning attached to it: if the girls delayed putting them away carefully, their chance of getting married would also be delayed. Nowadays, this is not seen too strictly and many girls are still allowed to leave the beautiful dolls set up until the end of the month.

Small special on the day ticket only on March 3, 2021

However, the tradition of enjoying special dishes on this day has not changed in modern Japan. On March 3, 2021, we will have a small Sushi-special for Hina-Matsuri to help you stay healthy and feel good during this time of the changing seasons. Our chefs have recreated the various dignitaries from organic quail eggs and prepared a kind of oshi-zushi (strictly speaking, in this case it is a Chirashizushibut that's a long story...). 

Of course, not only children may "play" with these dolls - with a little bit of soy sauce, the dolls can be "cleared away" in any case at very short notice...

Update: March 3, 2022 limited available

Due to customer demand, we will be offering this small limited edition special again in 2022 - please pre-order early for delivery or note it directly in your reservation or by contacting us via the Contact form write, of course, only while stocks last.

Sign up in our Newsletter so that you will be informed in the future when we offer special events or specials around the Japanese cuisine in Munich.

Sharing pleasure in Japanese

SUSHIYA is passionate about Japanese cuisine and culture. In our restaurant sansaro you can encounter the fascinating Japanese cuisine or have it delivered to your home. On our homepage, Facebook and Instragram we always give insights into news and interesting topics.

Japancraft 21

At SUSHIYA in Munich, we are fascinated by Japanese cuisine and culture. Our mission is to translate the Japanese craftsmanship of our chefs and the many stories that Japanese cuisine offers in a culinary way for our guests.

But of course, the depth of Japanese craftsmanship is not limited to the kitchen - it can be found in all areas of Japanese life and creation.

But the preservation of craftsmanship and knowledge of the right techniques is no longer automatic: more and more knowledge is being lost. And it often takes people from the outside to make a difference. Steve Beimel, originally from America and now living in Kyōto, has dedicated himself to preserving Japanese crafts and founded an organization that deserves support.

read more "

Hina-Matsuri – das Fest der Mädchen am 3. März

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Besondere Speisen für einen besonderen Tag

Am 3. März werden in Japan die Hina-Puppen aufgestellt und geschmückt. An diesem „Mädchentag“ (auch als „Puppen- oder Mädchenfest“ bekannt) wird für ein gesundes und glückliches Aufwachsen der Mädchen gebetet. 
Dieser Tag wird auch „Momo-Sekku“ (桃の節句) genannt, „Pfirsichblütenfestival“, denn um diese Zeit beginnt die Pfirsichblüte.
Die Hina-Puppen werden mit Pfirsich- und Kirschblüten liebevoll geschmückt und zur Feier des Tages werden besondere Gerichte gegessen, wie bunte rautenförmige Reiskuchen (die Fruchtbarkeit symbolisieren sollen), Arare (pastellfarbene süße würfelförmige Reiscracker), Chirashi-Sushi (ebenfalls leicht gesüßt mit Fisch und Gemüse) und klare Muschelsuppe. Dieses Festival gehört zu den meist gefeierten Festen und in ganz Japan finden an diesem Tag viele farbenfrohe Veranstaltungen statt. 

Wie entstand Hina-matsuri?

Hina-Matsuri war ursprünglich „Jōshi“ (上巳) , eines der fünf „Sekku-“Events (節句、Jahreszeiten-Feste), die aus China stammten. In alten Zeiten glaubte man, dass böse Geister um die Zeit von „Setsubuku“ – das bedeutet Jahreszeitenwende – besonders leicht in den Körper der Menschen eindringen könnten. 
Um sich dagegen zu schützen, entwickelte sich in Japan der Brauch, sich mit Papierpuppen (die den Menschen symbolisieren und so die Geister täuschen sollten) über den Bauch zu streichen und dann diese Puppen in einem Fluss (in „Jōshi“), der ins Meer mündete, wegtreiben zu lassen. So sollte der Körper von den Verunreinigungen durch die Geister gereinigt werden und die Papierpuppen sollten diese im Fluss forttragen. Dieser Brauch ist wahrscheinlich der Ursprung von Nagashi-Bina, einer besonderen Hina-Matsuri-Veranstaltung, die noch heute existiert.

In der Heian-Periode (794 – 1185), als sich das Feiern der Sekku-Feste einzubürgern begann, wurde auch „Hina-Asobi“ (雛遊び das Spielen mit Puppen) unter den Kindern des Adels sehr beliebt. Das Wort „Hina“ bedeutet ein kleines, liebenswertes Ding und man nimmt an, dass das Puppenspiel und „Jōshi“ sich verbanden zu der ursprünglichen Form des heutigen Hina-Matsuri- Festes.

Im Laufe der Zeit entwickelte sich die Technik der Puppenherstellung weiter und besonders in der Edo-Periode (1603 – 1868) wurden immer feinere, kostbarere Puppen hergestellt. Da das Spielen mit Puppen und die Freude der Mädchen an schönen Puppen zusammenhängen, entwickelte sich „Jōshi“ allmählich zu einem Fest für Mädchen, zu „Hina-Matsuri“.

Hina-Puppen begleiten eine Frau ihr ganzes Leben

Wenn ein Mädchen geboren wird, ist es üblich, dass die Großeltern mütterlicherseits dem Kind Hina-Puppen schenken. Diese Puppen sind sehr kostbar gearbeitet und teuer und bleiben ihr Leben lang als Eigentum bei einer Frau, auch wenn sie verheiratet ist. Oft werden sie auch über viele Generationen in den Familien vererbt.

Hina-Puppen sind eine Puppengruppe nach festgefügten Regeln. Sie bestehen aus einem Herrscherpaar (O-Dairi-sama und O-Hina-sama), drei weiblichen Personen, manchmal als Dienerinnen, aber auch als Kurtisanen (Kanjo) bezeichnet, fünf Musikern, zwei Wächtern (oder Ministern) und drei weiteren Personen, die dem hohen Paar zu Diensten sind. Die Herrscher und auch ihre Untergebenen sind prunkvoll gekleidet, oft in der traditionellen Hofkleidung der Heian-Periode. Leuchtendes Rot und Goldtöne sorgen für den prunkvollen Eindruck. Der ganze Hofstaat ist auf einem 5- bis 7-stufigen Altar angeordnet, oft mit Einrichtungs- und vor allem Küchengegenständen ergänzt. Eine der Dienerinnen auf der zweiten Stufe reicht in manchen Arrangements dem Herrscherpaar Sake („Amazake“, weißer Sake, der beim Hina-Fest in einer leicht gesüßten und alkohol-reduzierten Form genossen wird) – ein Zeichen für die besondere Bedeutung des Getränkes.
Da jedoch die meisten Familien heutzutage nicht mehr über große Wohnungen verfügen, hat es sich eingebürgert, dass die Hina-Puppen nur aus dem Herrscherpaar bestehen.

Schon Mitte Februar beginnen die Mädchen, ihre Hina-Puppen zu schmücken. 
Der 3. März ist dann mit dem Tag des Festes der Höhepunkt, nach dem traditionell die Puppen gleich wieder weggeräumt werden sollten. Dies hatte ursprünglich seinen Grund darin, dass die Puppen vor der Feuchtigkeit der beginnenden Regenzeit geschützt werden sollte. Aber natürlich verband man damit eine besondere Bedeutung: verzögerten die Mädchen das sorgsame Einräumen, würde sich ihre Chance, zu heiraten ebenfalls verzögern. Heutzutage sieht man das nicht mehr zu streng und viele Mädchen dürfen die schönen Puppen noch bis zum Ende des Monats aufgebaut lassen.

Kleines Special auf der Tageskarte nur am 3. März 2021

Nicht verändert aber hat sich im modernen Japan die Tradition, besondere Gerichte an diesem Tag zu genießen. Am 3. März gibt es ein kleines Sushi-Special zum Hina-Matsuri, damit Sie in dieser Zeit des Jahreszeitenwechsels gesund bleiben und sich wohlfühlen. Die verschiedenen Würdenträger haben unsere Köche dabei quasi aus Bio-Wachteleiern nachgestellt und eine Art Oshi-Zushi (strenggenommen ist es in dem Fall ein Chirashizushi, aber das ist eine lange Geschichte…) kreiiert. 

Natürlich dürfen nicht nur Kinder mit diesen Puppen „spielen“ – mit ein klein wenig Soja-Sauce lassen sich die Puppen auf jeden Fall sehr kurzfristig „wegräumen“…

we are hiring experienced sushi chefs for germany • Verstärkung für das Küchenteam im sansaro gesucht

ミュンヘンの賑やかな学生街にある寿司和食レストランSUSHIYA sansaroでは調理スタッフ(正社員)を募集しています。 料理長 寿司・和食経験が10年以上(うち継続して日本で5年以上) 毎日の営業で仕込み・調理業務全般以外にも、スタッフの育成、イベント時の特別料理やコース料理の創作、在庫管理など 寿司・調理スタッフ 寿司・和食調理経験(日本で3年以上の修行経験のあるかた) 当店ではお料理、特に寿司にこだわり、ドイツのお客様にクオリティーの高い本格的な日本食を提供するよう調理スタッフが こだわりを徹底して日々向上心を持って取り組んでいます。 ミュンヘンでもっと寿司・和食のスキルを伸ばしたいやる気のある方大歓迎。 ドイツ在住の方、ワーホリなどビザ所有ですぐに働ける方はもちろん日本からの応募もお待ちしています。 語学力は不問です。 ・ビザサポートあり ・住居サポート可 ・週休2日制 ・各種社会保障完備 ・有給休暇あり (年間20日〜)毎年日数が増えていきます。 ・チップ支給 ・美味しい賄い付き

Flyer für das Silvestermenü im Sushi Restaurant Sushiya München
Silvester 2016

Silvester 2016 – letzte Plätze reservieren für den kulinarischen Höhepunkt des Jahres