Uni - Sea urchin in Japanese | SUSHIYA sansaro

Uni - sea urchin in japanese

Table of contents

In Japan, Uni, as sea urchin is called there, is a sought-after delicacy. Thanks to an incomparable spicy flavor and creamy texture, it is also becoming increasingly popular outside Japan. Whether you enjoy Uni as sushi or sashimi, the diverse flavors of this special delicacy will immediately captivate you. 

What is Uni?

Uni is the Japanese term for sea urchins that are made into delicious dishes. 

The sea urchins, which at first glance do not look very appetizing, hide their culinary secret inside. For there are the gonads, a kind of reproductive glands, which are very tasty. Since each sea urchin has only five gonads, Uni is a rather rare specialty that you should not miss. It is mistakenly believed in many countries outside Japan that the edible part of sea urchins are the eggs of this creature, but this is not true.

Sea urchins are an ancient species

Sea urchins, like starfish and sea cucumbers, belong to the family of the Echinoderms.

They first appeared on earth about 500 million years ago. Today, sea urchins are found from the surf of the world's oceans to depths of 6,000 meters. It is said that about 150 species live in the seas around Japan.

Spelling of Uni (sea urchin) in Japanese

The kanji for Uni (雲丹) are composed of the characters for cloud (雲) and for the color red (丹) - obviously a connection with the appearance of some reddish sea urchin varieties.

However, usually only processed, i.e. heat-treated sea urchins are written with kanji.

Fresh sea urchin, on the other hand, is mostly written in the syllabary Katakana (ウニ) in Japan, in some cases Hiragana (うに) is also used. Therefore, all uni descriptions in this article are unified in katakana.

Why this is differentiated in this way is not really clear today - like so much in the Japanese language and culture, it has developed in this way at some point and is sometimes differentiated without a very fixed rule, also a bit according to feeling.

Tamago-Uni-Nigiri - fresh sea urchin with (homemade from organic eggs) egg sting in Munich SUSHIYA sansaro

What are the types of Uni?

Of the approximately 950 different species of sea urchins worldwide, only some are edible. In Japan, a distinction is made between the two main types, Murasaki Uni (ムラサキウニ ) and Bafun Uni (バフンウニ), which differ from each other in both color and taste. 

Furthermore, the respective sub-varieties Kita-Murasaki Uni (キタムラサキウニ) and  Ezo-Bafun (エゾバフンウニ) Uni from Hokkaidō Prefecture plays an important role. This is because these two varieties are considered the tastiest sea urchins served in Japanese cuisine. Other sea urchins that are consumed include Aka Uni (アカウニ), a red type of sea urchin, and Shirahige Uni, which is also known as white sea urchin. In addition, imported sea urchins from California and Chile are increasingly sought after for their special flavors and are becoming more common in Japan.

Shiro Uni and Aka Uni

Shiro Uni and Aka Uni are not additional sea urchin species, but a distinction, respectively categorization of the gonads of the six described sea urchin species. The sea urchins related to Murasaki Uni are called Shiro Uni and are usually rather light yellow in color. Dark yellow gonads are referred to as aka uni. These include Bafun Uni and related sea urchins, in addition to the variety named Aka-Uni. Aka Uni is generally somewhat sweeter than Shiro Uni and also has a longer shelf life, which is why it is considered more noble. However, the texture is very fine in both types, making it difficult to name a favorite.

Murasaki - the perfect sea urchin for sushi and sashimi

The most common sea urchin used in Japanese cuisine is Murasaki Uni, which is known for a dark purple coloration and very sharp spines. It is most common on the side of Japan facing the Pacific Ocean and prefers to live in warmer waters. Its gonads are mustard yellow and are characterized by a sweetish and very clear taste. Thanks to this fact, Bafun Uni has a very intense flavor, characterized mainly by a subtle umami note and bitter aromas. Its orange gonads are used primarily for cooked dishes and sauces because of the intensity of flavor. But also raw with a little salt Bafun-Uni tastes great.

A little anecdote on the side: there must always be a seasonal word in Japanese poems haiku. Although there are sea urchins all year round, but since the largest catches of Murasaki Uni take place in May, Uni (sea urchin) apparently also became a synonym for the spring season in haiku poems.

We are proud to present to you in the Restaurant sansaro in Munich and the associated delivery service always offer different dishes on the daily menu also with fresh sea urchin.

Sea urchin cut open and for the photo already freed from other innards and cleaned.

Kita-Murasaki Uni - a delicacy appreciated by gourmets.

Kita-Murasaki Uni is the name given in Japan to sea urchins from the northern part of Hokkaido Prefecture. They are known for their very sweet taste, which is even more pronounced than Murasaki Uni, and offer a fine texture. These advantages make Kita-Murasaki a highly sought-after specialty.

Ezo-Bafun Uni - one of the most delicious sea urchins in the world

Unlike other sea urchin species, Aka Uni (red sea urchin) contains very little bitter substances and convinces with a slight sweetness and a very pleasant aftertaste. Aka Uni shares its habitat with the much more common Murasaki Uni, but differs greatly in appearance from other sea urchin species, as it is rather flat and broad and its spines are not very pronounced.

Shirahige Uni - Umami at the highest level

Very strong umami notes and a certain sweetness as with all sea urchins make Shirahige Uni very popular sea urchins. Shirahige Uni live in southern Japan around the Kii Peninsula and are the only variety of sea urchin consumed on a large scale that do not originate from the waters of the northern island of Hokkaido.

What does university and university sushi taste like?

All sea urchin species have a primarily sweet taste. But bitter notes and especially umami notes are not uncommon in Uni. Exactly how Uni tastes depends on many factors. For example, in addition to the water temperature, the food of the sea urchins plays a major role. Sea urchins that feed predominantly on seaweed, for example, often offer a taste characterized by umami notes. The amino acids glycine and alanine, on the other hand, are responsible for the sweetness of uni.

Outside of Japanese cuisine, fresh sea urchin sometimes takes some getting used to. SUSHIYA founder Alexander Reinelt used to say, "Sea urchin tastes like the rivers smell in Venice. In the meantime, however, he has also come to know and love this speciality and never misses an opportunity to try variations of Uni in Munich or Japan.

In any case, it can be said that sea urchin and especially fresh sea urchin is often a taste challenge for people in Germany who are trying it for the first time and have only ever eaten salmon and avocado sushi. But with time, you can get used to the special taste and appreciate it. It is always recommended to look for authentic pleasure in sushi, to try the variety of Japanese sushi.

In what season can eat uni?

Uni tastes best when the respective gonads are in a growth phase in preparation for spawning. This phase covers two to four months, depending on the urchin species. Since the periods occur at different times of the year for different urchins, you can enjoy fresh uni almost all year round. For example, Murasaki Uni and Shirahige Uni are in season from June to August. This is followed by Kita-Murasaki Uni and Aka Uni in September and October. November, on the other hand, is the time for Bafun Uni. Its subspecies Ezo-Bafun Uni is then first choice from December to February. But even outside these times, at least until April, fresh Uni is always available.

Is university healthy?

Thanks to a lot of vitamin B, uni is considered very healthy and can prevent heart disease, for example. Since Uni is well tolerated and does not burden the intestines, it can also be eaten by older and sensitive people. Since Uni contains relatively high cholesterol, this delicacy is not recommended if you want to eat a cholesterol-free diet.

Uni in Japanese cuisine

Since uni develops its unique flavor both raw and cooked, it can be prepared in many different ways. In addition to preparation as sushi or sashimi, stews with uni are particularly popular in Japan. To make uni ready for cooking, the first step is to break open the shell of the sea urchin. After removing any remaining seaweed and the like, the gonads are quickly and precisely removed. Then, to preserve the natural flavor, uni should be washed with sea water or salt water.

Sea urchin sushi and sashimi

Typical ways of preparing sushi with uni include gunkan and nigiri sushi. Many Japanese chefs like to serve uni as nigiri sushi, because in this variant the delicate fragrance of the uni is not overwhelmed by the aroma of the nori seaweed. Basically, uni is very often used as a topping in connection with sushi. But Uni is also offered as Temaki (a kind of hand roll) or Hoso-Maki in Japan.

Ikura-Uni-Gunkan - from the menu of the day in the restaurant sansaro in Munich March 2022

Imported sea urchins and their features

Due to the high demand for uni in Japan, uni from various countries have been imported for some time. Especially sea urchins from California are very popular, because they are very large and have a meaty texture. Imports from Chile, Russia, Korea and China are also very popular, as they have a slightly different taste from the uni from Japanese waters due to the slightly different living conditions. 

Typically, Japanese restaurants in Germany often find frozen uni from Canada. These have a slightly bitter taste, but are still a nice way to taste the special pleasure of Uni in Japanese cuisine.

In our experience, fresh sea urchins are very rare in sushi restaurants in Munich. This is because fresh sea urchin is complex to prepare, quickly perishable - and not every German can get enthusiastically involved in this particular specialty.

Why fresh uni is rare in Germany

One difficulty Japanese restaurants outside of Japan encounter when processing fresh sea urchin for sushi is that it is a very unpredictable product.

In Japan, at the various fish markets, you can buy the uni freshly caught, but fully gutted and ready to eat. The small, representative boards on which the sea urchin is offered in the fish markets look incredibly delicious for gourmets - as always, the presentation in Japan is perfect (and usually the product as well).

This luxury does not exist outside Japan. This is due to the fact that fresh sea urchin spoils much faster, there is less demand in Germany, for example, and the delivery routes from Japan would be much too long.

So, as a sushi restaurant in Munich or Germany, you usually order whole sea urchins, which you have to break open, gut, wash out and dress yourself first. This shifts the exploitation risk to the restaurant: some sea urchins are empty, inedible, broken or simply blessed with very little edible content, some are perfect or have more edible material to offer. This means that ordering fresh sea urchin is always a risk for any restaurant in Germany, because it is impossible to say how many portions can be sold before the individual sea urchin shells are opened.

Traditional dishes with Uni

Besides Japanese wafu pasta with a sauce of bafun uni and a topping of uni, the dish chawanmushi with uni is especially popular. This dish made of egg, known for its strong umami taste, is often topped with uni and then steamed. Especially if you don't want to try uni raw, chawanmushi is a nice opportunity to enjoy uni and get to know its incomparable taste.

University festivals are very popular in Japan

Wherever the regional harvest of uni is in the offing, exuberant uni festivals are also celebrated. Especially on the island of Hokkaidō in northern Japan, uni festivals are very common and a permanent fixture for social interaction. In addition to numerous dishes featuring uni, these festivals also offer the opportunity to taste uni fresh right out of the sea urchin.

Sharing pleasure in Japanese

SUSHIYA is passionate about Japanese cuisine and culture. In our restaurant sansaro you can encounter the fascinating Japanese cuisine or have it delivered to your home. On our homepage, Facebook and Instragram we always give insights into news and interesting topics.

Sushi trend dry ice

A strange trend is suddenly spreading in the last 2-3 years at sushi restaurants in Munich: Sushi & Sashimi are served on

Trip to Japan

Our (far too small) kitchen team has just completed two great evenings with a "New Year's Eve kaiseki", the Omisoka 2023,

Uni – Seeigel auf japanisch

Inhaltsverzeichnis

In Japan ist Uni, wie Seeigel dort genannt wird, eine begehrte Delikatesse. Dank eines unvergleichlich würzigen Geschmacks und einer cremigen Textur wird er auch außerhalb Japans immer populärer. Egal ob Sie Uni als Sushi oder Sashimi genießen, die vielfältigen Aromen dieser besonderen Spezialität werden Sie sofort in den Bann ziehen. 

Was ist Uni?

Als Uni bezeichnet man im Japanischen Seeigel, die zu leckeren Gerichten verarbeitet werden. 

Die auf den ersten Blick nicht sehr appetitlich wirkenden Seeigel verbergen ihr kulinarisches Geheimnis in ihrem Inneren. Denn dort befinden sich die Gonaden, eine Art von Fortpflanzungsdrüsen, die sehr schmackhaft sind. Da jeder Seeigel nur über fünf Gonaden verfügt, ist Uni eine eher seltene Spezialität, die Sie sich nicht entgehen lassen sollten. Fälschlicherweise wird in vielen Ländern außerhalb Japans angenommen, dass es sich bei dem essbaren Teil von Seeigeln um die Eier dieser Kreatur handelt, was aber nicht stimmt.

Seeigel sind eine uralte Spezies

Seeigel gehören, wie Seesterne und Seegurken, zur Familie der Stachelhäuter.

Sie tauchten erstmals vor etwa 500 Millionen Jahren auf der Erde auf. Heute findet man Seeigel von der Brandung der Weltmeere bis in Tiefen von 6.000 Metern. Man sagt, dass etwa 150 Arten in den Meeren um Japan leben.

Schreibweise von Uni (Seeigel) im Japanischen

Die Kanji für Uni (雲丹) setzen sich zusammen aus den Schriftzeichen für Wolke (雲) und für die Farbe rot (丹) — offensichtlich ein Zusammenhang mit dem Erscheinungsbild von manchen rötlichen Seeigel-Sorten.

Mit Kanji geschrieben werden allerdings üblicherweise nur verarbeitete, also wärmebehandelte Seeigel.

Frischer Seeigel wird dagegen in Japan meistens in der Silbenschrift Katakana geschrieben (ウニ), in manchen Fällen wird auch Hiragana (うに) verwendet. Daher sind alle Uni-Beschreibungen in diesem Artikel in Katakana vereinheitlicht.

Warum das so unterschieden wird, lässt sich heute nicht mehr recht nachvollziehen — wie so vieles in der japanischen Sprache und Kultur hat es sich irgendwann mal so entwickelt und wird zuweilen ohne ganz feste Regel, auch ein bisschen nach Gefühl unterschieden.

Tamago-Uni-Nigiri - frischer Seeigel mit (aus Bio-Eiern hausgemachtem) Eierstich im SUSHIYA sansaro in München

Welche Arten von Uni gibt es?

Von den circa 950 verschiedenen Seeigelarten weltweit sind nur einige essbar. In Japan unterscheidet man im Wesentlichen zwischen den beiden Haupttypen Murasaki Uni (ムラサキウニ ) und Bafun Uni (バフンウニ), die sich sowohl in Farbe als auch Geschmack voneinander unterscheiden. 

Des Weiteren spielen die jeweiligen Untersorten Kita-Murasaki Uni (キタムラサキウニ) und  Ezo-Bafun (エゾバフンウニ) Uni aus der Präfektur Hokkaidō eine wichtige Rolle. Denn diese beiden Sorten gelten als die schmackhaftesten Seeigel, die in der japanischen Küche serviert werden. Weitere Seeigel, die verzehrt werden, sind Aka Uni (アカウニ), eine rote Seeigelart und Shirahige Uni, der auch als weißer Seeigel bekannt ist. Außerdem sind importierte Seeigel aus Kalifornien und Chile aufgrund besonderer Geschmacksnoten zunehmend begehrt und werden in Japan immer häufiger angeboten.

Shiro Uni und Aka Uni

Bei Shiro Uni und Aka Uni handelt es sich nicht um weitere Seeigelarten, sondern um eine Unterscheidung, beziehungsweise Kategorisierung der Gonaden der sechs beschriebenen Seeigelarten. Die mit Murasaki-Uni verwandten Seeigel werden als Shiro Uni bezeichnet und haben meistens eine eher hellgelbe Farbe. Dunkelgelbe Gonaden werden als Aka-Uni bezeichnet. Hierzu gehören neben der Sorte mit dem Namen Aka-Uni vor allem Bafun Uni und verwandte Seeigel. Aka Uni ist im Allgemeinen etwas süßer als Shiro Uni und auch länger haltbar, weswegen es als edler gilt. Die Textur ist aber bei beiden Arten sehr fein und macht es schwierig einen Favoriten zu benennen.

Murasaki - der perfekte Seeigel für Sushi und Sashimi

Der am häufigsten in der japanischen Küche verwendete Seeigel ist Murasaki Uni, der für eine dunkelviolette Färbung und sehr spitze Stacheln bekannt ist. Er ist vor allem auf der dem Pazifik zugewandten Seite Japans verbreitet und lebt vorzugsweise in wärmeren Gewässern. Seine Gonaden sind Senfgelb und zeichnen sich durch einen süßlichen und sehr klaren Geschmack aus. Um die vielfältige Aromenwelt diese Dank dieser Tatsache hat Bafun Uni einen sehr intensiven Geschmack, der vor allem von einer feinen Umami-Note und bitteren Aromen geprägt wird. Seine orangenen Gonaden werden aufgrund der Geschmacksintensität in erster Linie für gekochte Gerichte und Saucen verwendet. Aber auch roh mit etwas Salz schmeckt Bafun-Uni hervorragend.

Kleine Anekdote am Rande: In den japanischen Gedichten Haiku muss immer ein saisonales Wort vorkommen. Zwar gibt es Seeigel das ganze Jahr über, aber da die größten Fänge von Murasaki Uni im Mai stattfinden, wurde Uni (Seeigel) offenbar auch zu einem Synonym für die Frühlingssaison in Haiku-Gedichten.

Wir sind stolz darauf, Ihnen im Restaurant sansaro in München und dem dazugehörigen Lieferservice immer wieder verschiedene Gerichte auf der Tageskarte auch mit frischem Seeigel anzubieten.

Seeigel aufgeschnitten und fürs Foto von sonstigen Innereien schon befreit und gesäubert.

Kita-Murasaki Uni - eine Delikatesse, die von Gourmets geschätzt wird

Als Kita-Murasaki Uni werden in Japan Seeigel aus dem nördlichen Teil der Präfektur Hokkaido bezeichnet. Sie sind bekannt für ihren sehr süßen Geschmack, der noch ausgeprägter als bei Murasaki Uni ist und bieten eine feine Textur. Diese Vorzüge machen Kita-Murasaki zu einer sehr begehrten Spezialität.

Ezo-Bafun Uni - einer der leckersten Seeigel der Welt

Im Gegensatz zu anderen Seeigelarten enthält Aka Uni (roter Seeigel) nur sehr wenig Bitterstoffe und überzeugt durch eine leichte Süße und einen sehr angenehmen Nachgeschmack. Aka Uni teilt sich seinen Lebensraum mit dem weitaus verbreiteteren Murasaki Uni, unterscheidet sich aber im Aussehen stark von anderen Seeigelarten, da er eher flach und breit ist und seine Stacheln nicht sehr ausgeprägt sind.

Shirahige Uni - Umami auf höchstem Niveau

Sehr starke Umami-Noten und eine gewisse Süße wie bei allen Seeigeln machen Shirahige Uni zu sehr beliebten Seeigeln. Shirahige Uni leben im Süden Japans im Umfeld der Kii-Halbinsel und sind die einzige Sorte Seeigel, die in großem Stil verzehrt werden und nicht aus den Gewässern der nördlich gelegenen Insel Hokkaido stammen.

Wie schmeckt Uni und Uni-Sushi?

Alle Seeigelarten haben einen in erster Linie süßen Geschmack. Aber auch bittere Noten und besonders Umami-Noten sind bei Uni nicht selten. Wie Uni genau schmeckt, hängt von vielen Faktoren ab. So spielt neben der Wassertemperatur vor allem die Nahrung der Seeigel eine große Rolle. So bieten Seeigel, die sich überwiegend von Seetang ernähren, oftmals einen von Umami-Noten geprägten Geschmack. Für die Süße von Uni sind hingegen die Aminosäuren Glycin und Alanin verantwortlich.

Außerhalb der japanischen Küche ist frischer Seeigel manchmal gewöhnungsbedürftig.„Seeigel schmeckt wie in Venedig die Flüsse riechen“ hat SUSHIYA-Gründer Alexander Reinelt früher immer gesagt. Inzwischen hat aber auch er diese besondere Spezialität kennen und lieben gelernt und lässt keine Gelegenheit aus, in München oder Japan Variationen von Uni zu probieren.

Auf jeden Fall kann man sagen, dass Seeigel und insbesondere frischer Seeigel für Menschen in Deutschland, die das zum ersten Mal probieren und bisher immer nur Lachs und Avocado-Sushi gegessen haben, oft eine geschmackliche Herausforderung ist. Mit der Zeit kann man sich aber auf den besonderen Geschmack einlassen und ihn zu schätzen wissen. Es empfiehlt sich immer, bei Sushi nach authentischem Genuss zu suchen, die Vielfalt japanischen Sushis zu probieren.

In welcher Jahreszeit kann Uni gegessen werden?

Am besten schmeckt Uni, wenn die jeweiligen Gonaden sich in einer Wachstumsphase befinden, um sich auf die Laichzeit vorzubereiten. Diese Phase umfasst je nach Seeigelart zwei bis vier Monate. Da die Zeiträume bei den verschiedenen Seeigeln zu unterschiedlichen Jahreszeiten stattfinden, können Sie fast das gesamte Jahr über frischen Uni genießen. Murasaki Uni und Shirahige Uni haben beispielsweise im Zeitraum Juni bis August Saison. Es folgen Kita-Murasaki Uni und Aka Uni im September und Oktober. Der November ist hingegen die Zeit der Bafun Uni. Deren Unterart Ezo-Bafun Uni ist dann von Dezember bis Februar erste Wahl. Aber auch außerhalb dieser Zeiten, mindestens bis in den April hinein ist immer frischer Uni verfügbar.

Ist Uni gesund?

Dank viel Vitamin B gilt Uni als sehr gesund und kann zum Beispiel Herzerkrankungen vorbeugen. Da Uni gut verträglich ist und den Darm nicht belastet, kann er auch von älteren und empfindlichen Menschen gegessen werden. Da Uni relativ viel Cholesterin enthält, ist von dieser Delikatesse abzuraten, wenn Sie sich cholesterinfrei ernähren möchten.

Uni in der japanischen Küche

Da Uni sowohl roh als auch gekocht seinen einzigartigen Geschmack entfaltet, kann er auf viele verschiedene Arten zubereitet werden. Neben der Zubereitung als Sushi oder Sashimi sind vor allem Eintöpfe mit Uni in Japan sehr beliebt. Um Uni küchenfertig zu machen, muss als Erstes die Schale des Seeigels aufgebrochen werden. Nach der Beseitigung von Algenresten und Ähnlichem werden die Gonaden schnell und präzise entfernt. Um den natürlichen Geschmack zu erhalten, sollten Uni dann mit Meerwasser oder Salzwasser gewaschen werden.

Sushi und Sashimi vom Seeigel

Typische Zubereitungsarten für Sushi mit Uni sind zum Beispiel Gunkan und Nigiri-Sushi. Viele japanische Köche servieren Uni gerne als Nigiri-Sushi, da bei dieser Variante der zarte Duft des Uni nicht vom Aroma der Nori-Algen überwältigt wird. Grundsätzlich wird Uni im Zusammenhang mit Sushi sehr oft als Topping verwendet. Aber auch als Temaki (eine Art Handrolle) oder Hoso-Maki wird Uni in Japan angeboten.

Ikura-Uni-Gunkan - von der Tageskarte im Restaurant sansaro in München März 2022

Importierte Seeigel und ihre Besonderheiten

Aufgrund der großen Nachfrage nach Uni in Japan werden seit einiger Zeit Uni aus verschiedenen Ländern importiert. Vor allem Seeigel aus Kalifornien erfreuen sich großer Beliebtheit, da diese sehr groß sind und eine fleischige Textur aufweisen. Auch Importe aus Chile, Russland, Korea und China sind sehr beliebt, da sie sich durch die etwas anderen Lebensbedingungen geschmacklich etwas von den Uni aus japanischen Gewässern unterscheiden. 

Typischerweise finden sich in japanischen Restaurants in Deutschland oft tiefgefrorene Uni aus Kanada. Diese haben einen leicht bitteren Geschmack, sind aber dennoch eine schöne Möglichkeit, den besonderen Genuss von Uni in der japanischen Küche zu probieren.

Frische Seeigel sind unserer Erfahrung nach in Sushi-Restaurants in München sehr selten. Denn frischer Seeigel ist aufwändig zuzubereiten, schnell verderblich — und nicht jeder Deutsche kann sich auf diese besondere Spezialität begeistert einlassen.

Warum frischer Uni selten ist in Deutschland

Eine Schwierigkeit, auf die japanische Restaurants außerhalb Japans bei der Verarbeitung von frischem Seeigel für Sushi auftritt ist, dass es ein sehr unkalkulierbares Produkt ist.

In Japan kann man auf den verschiedenen Fischmärkten den Uni fangfrisch, aber vollständig ausgenommen und verzehrbereit kaufen. Die kleinen, repräsentativen Brettchen, auf denen der Seeigel in den Fischmärkten angeboten wird, sehen für Genießer unglaublich lecker aus — wie immer ist die Präsentation in Japan perfekt (und meistens auch das Produkt).

Außerhalb Japans gibt es diesen Luxus nicht. Das hängt damit zusammen, dass natürlich frischer Seeigel viel schneller verdirbt, weniger Nachfrage in beispielsweise Deutschland besteht und die Lieferwege aus Japan ja auch viel zu lang wären.

Man bestellt als Sushi-Restaurant in München oder Deutschland also üblicherweise ganze Seeigel, die man selber erst aufbrechen, ausnehmen, auswaschen und anrichten muss. Das verlagert das Ausbeuterisiko auf das Restaurant: manche Seeigel sind leer, ungenießbar, kaputt oder schlicht mit sehr wenig essbarem Inhalt gesegnet, manche sind perfekt oder haben mehr essbares Material zu bieten. Dadurch ist die Bestellung von frischem Seeigel für jedes Restaurant in Deutschland immer ein Risiko, weil sich vor dem Öffnen der einzelnen Seeigelaschalen gar nicht sagen lässt, wieviel Portionen verkauft werden können.

Traditionelle Gerichte mit Uni

Neben japanischer Wafu-Pasta mit einer Sauce aus Bafun-Uni und einem Topping von Uni ist vor all das Gericht Chawanmushi mit Uni sehr beliebt. Diese Speise aus Ei, die für ihren kräftigen Umami-Geschmack bekannt ist, wird gerne mit Uni belegt und dann gedämpft. Gerade wenn Sie Uni nicht roh probieren möchten, ist Chawanmushi eine schöne Gelegenheit um in den Genuss von Uni zu kommen und seinen unvergleichlichen Geschmack kennenzulernen.

Uni-Festivals sind in Japan sehr beliebt

Immer dort, wo gerade die regionale Ernte von Uni ansteht, werden auch ausgelassene Uni-Feste gefeiert. Vor allem auf der im Norden Japans gelegenen Insel Hokkaidō sind Uni-Festivals sehr verbreitet und eine feste Größe für das soziale Miteinander. Außer zahlreichen Gerichten mit Uni bieten diese Festivals auch die Möglichkeit, Uni ganz frisch direkt aus dem Seeigel heraus zu probieren.

Sake Tasting Flight Dezember 2021

Die Sake-Tasting-Flights im Restaurant sansaro bieten Ihnen die wundervolle Gelegenheit, immer wieder wechselnde, unterschiedliche Sake aus unserem unschlagbaren Sortiment zu

Washoku Glossar

Die japanische Küche ist eine endlose Schatzkiste spannender Geschichten. Hier verlinken wir ein paar Begriffe, die uns auf unseren Streifzügen